Five years ago, the local university built two new dormitories through different contractors: Aleph Construction and Gimmel Builders. The buildings were nearly identical, though it cost Gimmel Builders

approximately 20 percent more to construct their dormitory. Aleph’s dormitory, however, has required

approximately 10 percent more in maintenance costs per year over the past five years. Therefore, to

construct their new dormitory with the lowest overall cost, the local university should hire Aleph

Construction.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions in the expert’s claim. Be

sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the

argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Five years ago, as the local university has witnessed engaging two different contractors for construction of their dormitories, it is an indisputable fact that the university will now decide to choose between the two contractors on the basis of their cost effectiveness. But the author’s suggestion to choose Aleph Construction are based on weak evidences, unsupported assumptions and equivocal statements. Author’s opinion stand to be unsubstantiated for various reasons based on which he asserted such choice.

The author’s has relied on two parameters for deciding the overall cost productivity. First that Gimmel Builders have charged 20 % more to construct the dormitory and Aleph Construction have charged 10% more in maintenance per year over five years. The construction charge and maintenance charge are two different criterias- first is one time pre construction cost and the other is recurring post construction cost. Both are not linked to each-other. So the evidence based on which author has favored Aleph Construction are based on fallacies and insufficient data. Even though 20% is more than 10% but the basis on which such percentage is calculated is different and so the overall effectivity or cost of construction cannot be ascertained form such facts.

The author stated that the dormitories made by both constructor were identical, but as per the author if Gimmel Builders have charged 20% more to construct, then it might have added some extra features to show what suffice him to charge that additional cost like adding better quality tiles, paint or interiors. And Aleph Construction charging 10% maintenance cost per year must have defaulted in forming a proper infrastructure like inferior bases or unplanned structure which have incurred the overall maintenance cost per year. Unless the author creates a proper survey of whether all features of both the dormitories are same and identical, cost effectivity of Aleph Construction are dubious and susceptible.

The author needs more information’s to create a strong argument and adjudge which construction company would be best fitted to hire like what all quality of materials are used by both the constructors? What are the total construction costs charged by both the builders? How much time required by each of them and what is the average cost of maintenance to be beared every year?

The university shall be benefitted if it could save cost in the construction of the dormitories but the university shall also account for a proper infrastructure for a better living of the students inside that and hence the authors arguments needs to be well supported with other facts to decide on his opinion. Otherwise the argument will stand unwarranted and ambiguous based on erroneous assumptions.