People learn things better from those at their own level—such as

fellow students or co-workers—than from those at a higher level,

such as teachers or supervisors.

Learning starts from the moment a child is born and lasts till its last breath. With time, learning has its different forms with the changes in developmental stages of person. But which type of learning we are exactly talking about? Learning can be spontaneous, which a person and all animated species in this world perceived through external stimulus by gaining knowledge from what they see around, form their peers, or from their own family or relatives. And the type of learning which is commonly acknowledged and is believed to starts with formal ambience under teachers, supervisors or professionals entrusted with such teachings.

Learning shapes a person’s innate character, personality or acumen which he carries in the long run and contributes to the society at large. So learning tends to be very subjective and depends on relative choice of every person on whether they choose formal learning which developes their basic potential to grab future complexities of life or experimental knowledge earned from peers and coming generations.In my opinion, the formal system of learning initiated is the very epitome of all future learnings acquired by a person.

Can friends and juniors really sanction or affirm any proposition made by us when we face difficult problems? Friends and peers can surely help us to solve a problem with their own experience but if something new comes up, they do not have that age old knowledge to exercise in solving such problem. My personal experience can be a compelling evidence to support this answer. During college days, I had to submit some case reports for my thesis paper. My best friend helped me to get some books from library to get some study reports. And I thought of not describing my project teacher for that. But later I came to know that such cases were not presented with proper citations and my thesis was not chosen for the publication. My project teacher later helped me to understand how citations are used chronologically to present a case. So even though my friend had helped me but lack of experience has landed me in trouble.

Secondly, I can draw another instance to unequivocally state that how our mentors help us in advancement of our learning rather than someone who is at par with us. Once I remember in office my Manager has cautioned me to sign on certain documents only after a proper scrutiny of its contents. But suddenly I got carried away by one of my colleague when he asked me not to be so laborious and be flexible enough to get those done just at a mere glance.Later it was revealed that the documents contained certain misinformation about the client and the client had accused my company for such great hazards. It was then my Manager who helped me got out of it by providing a quick relief by getting it executed after proper perusal.

To sum up, it can be said that knowledge of peers and the juniors who are the upcoming generations with vivid enthusiasm can serve us great help but our mentors like teachers or supervisors or even the elderly members of our family serves as the basic pillars of our knowledge.