A recent study by the Center for Disease Control and Prevention found that employees with paid sick leave are 28 percent less likely to be involved in a work-related accident than employees who do not receive payment for sick leave. Researchers hypothesize that employees with unpaid sick leave feel pressured to work during time of illness for fear of lack of pay. On-the-job accidents are then spurred by impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications. The highest-risk occupations, such as construction, showed the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the researchers’ hypothesis is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the hypothesis.

The argument showing the statistical fact that employees with paid sick leave are 28% less likely to be involved in a work related accident might hold to be true but the assumptions based on which such hypothesis are based does not supports the argument and leaves rooms for many unanswered reasons which actually leads to such accidents in workplaces. The arguments here implies that employees accident in work places are directly proportional to unpaid sick leave. But this assumptions does not a make a cogent case for such evaluation.

The author has stated unpaid leave causing such accident. But why isn’t there wages enough so that they can bear the deductions made in lieu of their absence for any medical emergencies? One of the first contributing factor for such accidents is proper disciplinarian and regulations in workspace given much emphasis on worker’s health health. But most of the workspaces specially the privately owned enterprises are profit driven and they care the least for worker’s health. For example the workers in medical field, be it doctors or nurses, pathologists, teachers responsible for children, security personals all needs a limited time frame, perks and provisions for medical fitness so that while working they can be to their best and not subjected to any pressure. A single inadvertent error from their side would cost lives of many people.

Secondly, the author stated impaired judgment or motor skills due to illness or illness-related medications results to such accidents. But is unpaid leave can be the sole factor for such accidents? The workers are often paid below the minimum wages against statutory provisions and due to dearth of work and dire need of more income to meet the growing inflation they get attracted to the overtime hourly wages. This make them prone to more diseases as human body is not meant for so long hours of work. Whereas tech giant companies try to provide most of comfortable working conditions to their employees like working in AC, free basic food, medical check ups which in turn is giving such industries the highest return as most of the scholared students gets attracted to such working spheres.

Thirdly, it is true that in highest-risk occupations, such as construction, the highest discrepancy between paid and unpaid leave lies but the author fails to mention that such discrepancy lies not from the sole perspective of leaves, but from the very nature of job. The people getting paid leaves are mainly the capitalist class like the managers, accountants and administrative personnals who work inside cool rooms but the socialist class like labourers, mechanics, construction workers who works on field are driven to more adverse working situations like dust, heat, risk but are subjected to less increments than the other class. This stands the main reason for such discrepancy and deteriorating factor to their health.

Thus unpaid leave can be a single reason but does not hold an overall impact for employees incurring serious injuries in workspace accidents. The arguments would have more strength if it could have backed by other possible absence of proper regulations to curb the money making mindset of growing business economy and placing more emphasis on peoples health.