200 deaths in flights have occurred each year compared to 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to determine whether the argument is reasonable. Be sure to explain what effects the answers to these questions would have on the validity of the argument.

The author asserts that flying is a much more safer mode of communication than driving. The author uses two evidences to supports his proposition. But the evidences are not fully representative and falls short of forming a strong base for backing such argument. Firstly, the evidences fail to deduce how many people still have access to air way of commuting. And most primarily does these two modes of communication even comparable in its normal course of daily life. There are many questions which are left unstated by the author which if proved might serve to prove the argument.

First, the US statistics are stated in this argument claiming that only 200 deaths in flights have occurred each year compare to 40,000 deaths in automobile accidents.But is this statistics even stands reasonable? No matter how technologically advanced people are but still in their daily commute to work, school, markets can even people think of taking a flight instead of a car. Is it really feasible to board a flight for shopping, job or on the way to school? Almost half of the world population still have to depend on road transport for their daily activities, which practically possible in all terms may be fare, time, convenience. So the number quoted by the author as 200 compare to 40,000 is visually quite less but the very basis on which such proportion are calculated completely seems different. The statistical data if represents clearly the basis for such numbers, the authors argument can gain its strength.

Second, the pilots are considered efficient enough that they are four times less likely to have accidents on road. But is such analyses justified or even dependable. Such evidence does not clearly states that whether such pilots run how many flights each day? For how many hours they have to run a flight? To bolster the strength of the argument, these questions need to be answered.

The author’s terminology is also not persuasive. The author states pilots are four times less likely than average to have accidents on the road. How can there be a sudden comparison of pilot’s incidence on flights and on roads.

The argument is not fully representative, persuasive and cogent as the statistical data presented by the author does not have a clear basis and lacks a lot of logic and reasoning.