Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with this recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and sup porting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Schools stands as the basis for all societies at any given period of time. It shapes our surroundings by not only imparting knowledge to our children but also developing the personal traits in them. School is the place where people start their very foundation of life, its inbuilds the core values in people. So even in times of need, when certain exterior demands are held like repair of the school building time to time which also marks the safety of the children and should always be maintained, it should not be compromised at the cost of any deduction on extracurricular activities as those activities enrich the upbringing of all children in their course of basic learning.

Funding remains a constant variant to run any institution. Any initiative to be taken by institutions depends considerably on funding. Schools faces the same issue of funding for any course of plan for its improvement, but it works differently for different institutions. In countries like India schools charges a significant amount of fees from every ward but fails to account for the expenses when asked to do so. They charges under different categories like books costs, laboratory fees, diary fees, school bus fees, etc. and other than that this they include the word ”MISCELLANEOUS FEES” to charge for those categories when they can’t give a proper term. But the children hardly gets all of these facilities and even if they get so, the charges are exorbitant and does not account for the real costs. And this is the time when school takes excuses in the form of building repairs and all for which they charge such fees. The maintenance fees are nowhere mentioned but still the school charges for the same.So there are various schools which to meet up their own needs like maintenance and repair usually comproises the needs of children.

Extracurricular activities does not always involve costs .It can be a basket ball, swimming, music, dance, paint, all of this either require a simple field, private pool, auditorium respectively so the school if cuts back the extracurricular from students in the plea of repair it is never justified. Extracurricular activities can never be an option for the children,it serves as a mandate now.

In todays sophisticated intricated world of globalization children should not only be a learned personnel, they must also struggle for existence and to be that they really need to excel in other fields of art, culture and sports. And to be so schools can never stand any recommendations to severe the extracurricular activities. Safety of the children always holds a primary concern repair, maintenance and structure of a school building should always be a point of concern but the school must chalk out such predetermined plans out of the funds they collect not out of the basic necessities of children life.