Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and the arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

School buildings in need of repair depend mostly on their funds for their infrastructure, but having using the fund kept out for extracurricular activities and sports for the infrastructure development is an ultimate issue for the students. As far as I’m concerned to a certain extent I disagree with the argument as it indirectly has an impact on students who are extremely contributing and interested in sports, arts and other extracurricular activities. I will be discussing the reasoning for the position I have taken in the following paragraphs.

Schooling in the modern world is focused on forging students’ life not only in the academics but with wide range of subjects that endeavors to transform them into being a successful persona even when they lacked in academics which is concerned primarily on the development of skills that functions with the conception of the technology, science, politics etc. which enables one to penetrate their vision on to the real world by understanding everything that comes into play in their life as they grow. Besides, academics is important in one’s life as it decides the career path of an individual or student based on their interest in the field of their choice. Therefore, it helps an individual to understand all the subjects and wisely interpret that which is most suitable for them for they have an excellent understanding in that field. However, only academics doesn’t help an individual as it can only help with the mental abilities, Sports and artforms build and forge one’s life beyond what academics offers.

Extracurricular activities help students to gain practical skillsets rather theoretical that is mostly offered by academics. These activities are arduous and involve wide range skills to offer students, be it to organize, plan, handle situations, especially repercussions, manage time, act on the circumstance in the activities like performing a skit, a dance, a mime or performing with a musical instrument, sketching or painting etc. which are the artforms that can shape a student’s life. Analogous to what art offers, Sports also offers the same and come under extracurricular activities which maintains the physical fitness of students and also not just the fitness but any form of sport can aspire them to also make a career out of it just like how they can make a career out of the artforms included in the extracurricular activities mentioned before.

In the field of Arts and Sports, we have witnessed many successes and careers like that of Sachin Tendulkar, a cricketer who followed his passion and also influenced millions in India to watch and play cricket. He managed to make the whole country proud by winning the world-cup for India. Such like famous personalities, A.R Rahman, a well-known Music composer, who was not so great with his academics just like Sachin Tendulkar, has won an Oscar which is considered and regarded as a highly prestigious award in the field of Art. There are many career paths in Arts and Sports which are influencing the youngsters of the nation to have chance and make an impact in their fields deriving inspirations from the greats of their field. Therefore, not discarding the fact that these extracurricular activities can facilitate those students who aspire to have a career path in the field of Sports and Arts. With schools cutting funds for extracurricular activities will only hinder the progress and aspirations of such students who have interest in pursuing their careers in them and thus, can have a huge impact on them. Therefore, not just the academics that builds the career for students but also the extracurricular activities along with it can forge their careers as well being equally important in their aspects.

Summarizing my view on the argument, Arts and sports hold equal importance in student’s life just like how important the academics is. Sports and Arts can have a huge impact on those who are interested to pursue their career in these fields. Cutting funds for extracurricular activities like sports and arts and funding the same for the infrastructural development/ repairs of the school building will hinder the progress and growth of those who aspire careers in these and thus can indirectly impede their growth. So, keeping this important consideration schools should have to plan an alternative to fund of the repairs of the school building.