Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes that it is important to limit consumption of the green tea to not more than two cups. This argument, however, is predicated on flawed assumptions which author fails to support with provident information. In order to properly evaluate the author's remarks on the observation made, more evidences are essential.

Citing the information, the author reports that green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of anti-oxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune system boosting compounds. This information, however, has no evident base to support its content and claim. Perhaps, if the author had provided the citation from a scientific study or experimentation revealing the information about the compounds present in the green tea, the author's citation would be supportive to the argument. Also, the data would contain more substantiality if author provided examples with sample data where green tea served as immune system boosting compound in people consuming it. Therefore, without effective supporting statements the author's claim stands with less validity.

Moreover, the author also mentions that green tea also contains moderate amounts of caffeine and with side effects. However, as deduced in the previous paragraph, there is no supporting structure for the statement, there is no evidence as to what amount of green tea subsumes caffeine. How were the side effects such as sleeplessness, irritability and headaches were observed? Perhaps, a survey or statistical data containing information about the number of people experiencing side effects with consumption of green tea, with more number of people suffering these side effects would strengthen the author's position with the argument. Hence, without valid supporting information, the author's argument cannot be properly evaluated.

Additionally, The author's implies that long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those of chronic coffee drinkers. The author again provides no information regarding the symptoms of chronic coffee drinkers. Are the constituents in both green tea and chronic coffee similar to each other and in same quantity? What number of people according the long-term study drank more cups of green tea? There is no proper figure and total figure to establish a link with the long-term study indicating the symptoms being similar to that of chronic coffee drinkers. Therefore, the author's argument rests solely on flawed assumptions and is insufficiently supported by the passage to evaluate the argument.

While, the author's conclusion may be true, but it lacks several considerations and predicates on flawed assumptions. However, with the evidences provided, as discussed in the previous paragraphs, the author's argument can be evaluated.