Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument here mentions that anyone who chooses to drink green tea should limit their intake to no more that two cups as drinking more than 2 cups of green tea a day can introduce symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, that includes sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. The argument presents its thought in a nice way but there are few short-comings which must be addresses. Not mentioning appropriate amount of caffeine in a cup and the credulity of the long-term survey on which this whole thought process is based must be addressed, otherwise this argument will remain fraught with assumptions.

The first assumption this argument takes is to denote the excessive drinking of green tea with the number of cups a person should have. This makes the argument ambiguous. It fails to mention the size of the cup. People in different countries drink tea from different cup sizes. People in Asia use a large cup to drink their green tea whereas the Europeans tend to use smaller cups. Two cups for a green tea in India might be three cups of green tea in England. If the argument would have mentioned the maximum amount of green tea a person should have in mililiters (ml), then it would give more clear idea on what is the cap to drink green tea without experiencing side-effects.

The second assumption this argument makes is that it says that a long-term study has found that those who drink excessive green tea (3 cups) are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers. This argument does not mention anything absolute about the survey. It just says that people are more likely to have symptoms related to chronic coffee drinkes. Writing 'more likely' gives a sense of ambiguousness to the whole survey. More likely can be 60% chance also and it can be 90% chance also. The argument needs to clearly write about the result of the survey. Also, it does not mention on whom this survey was conduced. This argument fails to mention whether the people on whom the survey was conducted drink coffee regularly or not. If the survey is conducted on the people who drink coffee regularly, then it is possbile that they are inured to the side-effects of caffeine; this might not give accurate results of the survey. The argument also doesn't mention anything about the sample size of the long-term study. The results of the study might differ for different sample sizes, eg. 100 people and 1000 people. So the argument should do more to give some more information about the sample size if the survey, whether it include people from all age groups and should mention the exact result of the survey instead of just writing 'more likely'.

The argument mentions that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers and it has included the effects as sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches but the argument fails to mention to what amount the effect is there. It is possble that people who drink coffee experience these side-efects in large quantities and people who drink more that three cups of green tea experience these effects in small quantities as the argument itself mentions that green tea contains moderate amount of caffeine. The argument should mention the extent of the side-effects to make it more valid.

Due to these all assumptions, the argument should do more to prove it clearly that people should not drink more than 3 cups of green tea or else they will suffer from caffeine related side-effects as it clearly does not answer all the questions leaving the whole argument ambiguous.