Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? When doing research, it is better to use printed materials such as books and articles than it is to use the Internet. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people like to use internet for research purposes whereas some people are old-school and prefer using printed materials such as books and articles. I disagree that when doing research, it is better to use printed materials than it is to use the internet. I believe that using the internet is better. I can give three reasons to back my opinion.

While doing research, we are exposed with tons of information and it is very important to find the right information from this massive pool of information. That is where the internet comes to help. When viewing any article or a book digitally, we can use ctrl+F option to find a particular topic and in a fraction of second, we would be able to exactly find on which page that particular word is. We cannot get this advantage in any printed material. There we need to manually figure out where that particular word was which we were looking for. One example for this is when I was doing my research on the approximate multipliers. There were a lot of articles on approximate multipliers avaialble and I was only concerned about Dijikstra approximate multipliers. So I took an article and applied the ctrl+F option on the word 'Dijikstra' and I easily got the information I needed and I was able to finish my research very quickly. This would not have been possible if I was reading a book on approximate multipliers. I would have to search for that word manually and there is also some chance that I might miss that word in some places.

Secondly, according to my experience, books and articles are usually costlier than materials available on the internet. Most of the materials available on the internet are free of cost and if it is a subscription based model, then the subscription price is usually nominal for students. This is not the case with printed books. These books are costlier than their soft copies. I remember when I was researching about Aeroplanes for my science project, there was a book on Aeroplanes which I wanted to purchase. That book was priced 28$. When I looked at its soft-copy price on the publication's website, it was 20$. They were taking extra 8$ for the hard-cover on the book. I purchased the soft-copy and proceeded with my research. Thus, printed copies are usually costlier then their counterparts on internet and we can save money if we use internet for research.

Thirdly, if we are using the internet for research, we can also take advantage of the interactive platform which internet offers. If we are not able to understand anything, then we can just go to you-tube, watch some videos. Nowadays, we can find videos on any topic on you-tube. Many free slide-shows are also available which can help us understand the topic for research. When I was researching about the approximate multipliers, I could not understand anything initially. Then I watched some you-tube videos on the topic, asked some doubts on public forums. These helped me a lot to strengthen my base for research. Hence, we can use internet in all sorts of ways to clear out doubts which is not possible with printed materials because books non-interactive and like internet forums, books cannot resolve our doubts.

So, I firmly disagree that printed materials should be used over internet when doing research. Using internet will be less costly, it will help us to segregate the information easily and it can offer us a completely different interface which a printed book does not.