Those who see their ideas through, regardless of doubts or criticism others may express, are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

An idea can sometimes change the whole world, even if it is a small idea like invention of a paper-clip. An idea is like a mud-pot. Initially it is in a raw form and when it passes through a helping hand, then that idea will be moulded. So, it is cardinal that your idea should pass through the minds of multiple people to strengthen it and for that reason I disagree with the statment those who see their ideas regardless of inputs from people, are the ones who leave a lasting legacy.

First of all, anyone must not be afraid from criticism of their ideas. There will be many people who will criticize your ideas whithout any reason, but you will also find some genuine people who will give their inputs to make your ideas better. Being critisized and being doubted upon is actually a good thing if taken positively. If any idea is getting critisized, then it means that people are taking note of the idea and it is getting attraction. If an idea gets attraction, then that means it is an idea worth pursuing. If the ideas are criticized and the creator of the idea introspects the reason for criticism, then the creator will find weak points of the idea and it will help in further bolstering of the idea. When Edison started the development of a light bulb, then he approached many of his fellow colleagues who gave reasonable inputs and on the basis of those inputs, he was able to rectify his shortcomings and was able to create an instrument which is used everyday in almost all the households in the world.

Furthermore, If being doubted upon is taken in a positive way, then the person becomes motivated in pursuing that idea in the pursuit of proving those people wrong who doubted him/her. When Elon Musk presented his idea of starting a private space research, Spacex, many people criticized and seriously doubted his idea and adviced against creating spacex. In his recent interview, he says that this criticism actually motivated him further to start and to prove other wrong who doubted his idea. He also said that sometime, he deliberately presents his ideas to those people who do not believe in him just to get motivated to prove them wrong. So, getting an idea to be criticized can prove to be motivational for people pursing the idea, and sometimes motivation is the missing ingrediant in an idea getting successfully implemented.

Having said this, it is also important to note that sometimes the whole world is wrong and we are right and we must take the road unexplored. It might be beneficial to not to listen to the world in some cases. The wright brothers, while developing the airplane were told that their invention was ahead of the time and it will not succeed, but they ignored their disbelievers and worked diligently on their idea, and what a lasting legacy they have. But it is important to note that, these cases do not happen often. Most of the times, listening to people's doubts and criticism will help in making the idea even better and if the idea is genuinely bad enough to be pursued, then instead of wasting precious time, it is better to drop that idea for the good of ourselves.

For all the reasons mentioned above, those who listen to their skeptics are actually helped going forward as it helps them to figure out any predicaments in their idea and it also gives a sense of motivation to go ahead and pursue the idea just to prove the doubters wrong and those ideas which are passed through various people tend to leave a lasting legacy.