The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum proposes that on building a subway system in Briggsville, the traffic congestion will alleviate and it will help in augmenting the economy of the city as due to the reduced traffic, productivity will increase in the workers. This memorandum; though looks lucid from the periphery, includes various assumptions in it and without debunking these assumptions, it is difficult to ascertain the validity of the statement that the memorandum is proposing.

The first assumption it takes is that even after developing the subway system, what is the guarantee that people will immediately start using subway as their means of transportation. People from the city may not accept this change so easily and it is possible that people do not want to give up the comfort in travelling in their personal cars. The argument should have clearly stated on whether people are actually willing to use subway for travelling. If the city of Briggsville is filled with wealthy people, then most citizens would not be willing to use the subway system. A well-ilustrated survey on how many people are willing to use the subway system when it will be installed in the imminent future and whether people would willing to give up their personal vehicles for work should have been conducted to clear this assumption.

The second assumption this argument takes is that it states that it states that the subway will be running 24 hours a day. One question which has to be asked here is that is it really necessary to run 24 hours a day. The argument fails to mention what is the amount of traffic the city has every hour. If the amount of traffic in the downtown areas is maximum from 9A.M. to 7P.M., then the subway can function around this time. There is no clear motive on why should the subway run even if the traffic is not there. If traffic will not be there, then people would simply opt not to use the subway system. So, a proper statistical analysis should be carried out to see at what time of the day, the traffic is high and that data should determine on whether running subways 24 hours a day is a necessity.

The third assumption this argument takes is that it mentions that the worker productivity will increase immediately due to less traffic and as a result of it, the economy of Briggsville will improve. The argument does not clearly provide the relation between having less traffic on roads and the economy of the city. It is possible that the city has many IT professionals working and most of them are willing to work from home in these covid times. In this case, there will not be any significant change in the economy meterorically which the memorandum claims. If the memo would have mentioned that the economy of the briggsvile would be augmented incrementally or would it have given some relation on how traffic affects day-to-day jobs of the people, this point would have some credibility.

Due to these all assumptions, the memorandum fails to provide any cogent statement on how develping the subway system will help in increasing the economy of Briggsville and even if the people would be willing to switch to the subway system for their day-to-day operations. If the argument would have mentioned about the acceptance of the people of Briggsville towards the survey system, any concrete reason on why running subway 24 hours a day would be beneficial and some information about the occupation of the people and how traffic affects their levelyhood, then this argument would have been pellucid.