The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The statement is about building up multi-million dollar subway stations in order to relieve Briggsville notorious traffic problem. Here, the Author has stated many assumptions which support the conclusion. But, there are many unstated assumptions that need to look upon.

In the statement, Mayor has mentioned that Subway will run through major downtown areas where only buses are used as a mode of transportation. Further, it is added that for many years complaint is coming regarding the inconsistency of buses service and lack in a safety issue.

The question comes " is it necessary to build such a multi-million dollar subway". "Is it necessary to spend so much money on a problem which can handle manually?". Here, the author has failed to mention explicitly the cuase for problem face by the city. May be, due to the bad handling system of the municipality has caue inconsistency in bus service. Or Buse maintenance has not been done for long time. Lastly, the Author has supported the conclusion that due to the general lack of safety subway will be built. So, " Is it the only reason to curb it ?". Will safety be maintained after that? Therefore, the Author should have mentioned the solid reason for building a subway. There are many logical fallacy which weaken the argument.

Secondly, Author mentioned about the motorist and improve in the economy of Briggsville because by building subway, productivity will increase. Here Author has not mentioned exactly " How will productivity will increase?". Either worker will not get stucked in the traffic due to service or due to subway traffic will relief". The author has presented a broad scenario by considering such an assumption.

Therefore, there are many loopholes which which which weaken the argument. In order strengthen the argument author must has considered the logical assumption