The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It is opined that the constuction of subway system at Briggsville's would address the issue of traffic congestion and bring about improvement in Briggsville's economy. However, this stated asumption might be flawed in the sense that the real reason for the construction could have being censored. To clarify the main purpose for the construction of the Briggsville's subway system, the following assumption would be considered.

First, the assumption that the subway was going to be a better pathway for the residents of the area was opined by only one person - Mayor Harrison. Could it be that the constuction was for political reasons? or to create a name in the environment?. This unstated assumption on the primary reason or purpose for this establishment was emmited. It could be aasumed that he also needed economic boost which could be for his personal gain or for the community as a whole was not stated.

Second, the complains where majored on inconsistency of buses but instead a subway is the only solution proferred. Assuming the residents requested for buses and probably safety rules for safe driving to be implented. The residents demand/ request can be questioned, assuming they gave this as an excuse for not being productive at work or to be late.

In conclusion, the constuction of subway system at Briggsville's would address the issue of traffic congestion and bring about improvement in Briggsville economy, clarify this stated assumption for the main purpose for the construction of the Briggsville's subway system, aforementioned assumption would be considered.