The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument here states that Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase of the suburbs of Salem, people are willing to spend more money on clothing, while Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen. However, both of these arguments are dependent on certain assumptions which cannot be overlooked and certainly presents a case to warrant a review as we need to understand the demographic of Salem suburbs, people's mentality and their spending power.

Firsltly, the argument is reliant on the fact that since the population of Salem has grown over 50% in the last three years and the median income is 75%, people will be willing to spend money in Namen's stores. There are a few questions on how these numbers are derived and one certainly has to spend some light on it. The population growth of 50% is mentioned, but it has not stated by how much the population has grown. It is possible that the suburb of Salem had 1000 people three years ago and it has 1500 people today, this is not a great increse in population and if the population is this low, the high end Namen stores will not have good sales due to the low population. It also mentions that the median income is $75000. But it does not mention anything about the average income of people. Consider a case in which 49% people of Salem earns less that $75000 and other people earn just more than 75000$, the median income will still be 75000$ but most of the people, would not be able to spend money on the high-end Salem stores.

The assumption mentioned in this argument is that the executives of Roscoe believe that since Suburbs are more family-oriented, then their store will be more profitable then their competitor Namen. If suburbs are family-oriented, it does not mean that people will prefer Roscoe over Namen. The argument itself mentions that the median income is 75000$. What if 40% of the city of Namen earns more than 500000$. They will prefer Namen stores, as if a family is affluent, then they will surely go with Namen because of high-end clothes. It can also be possible that most of the people in Salem have a nuclear family, so there are less number of people and then they will be able to go with Namen stores even if they are selling costly clothes because the families won't have to buy a lot of them.

The third assumption this argument states is that it compares the suburbs of Salem with its other branches. We need to carefully examine the demographics of Salem. It is possible that people from Salem are stingy and do not like to spend a lot of money on clothings. In this case, both Namen and Roscoue will incur losses in Salem. Its also possible that the people of Salem are highly supportive of any local fashion departmental stores, and people won't buy from either Namen or Roscoe.

If the argument would have mentioned clearly about the total population of Salem and if it would have given some more ideas about the financial spending of the people of salem, then this argument could have more merit. If both the stores would have conducted a survey in the city of Salem on whether people would be willing to purchase their products and if the argument would have mentioned anything about their competitiors and the local fashion market in the Salem suburbs, then it could have been lucid and could certaily have proved a point. But since this argument is based on certain assumptions, it becomes ambiguous and both the departmental stores should conduct further research before reaching any conclusion.