The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

Two department stores' executives are thinking about setting a new branch at the growing suburb of Salem. While Namen focus on high-end designer fashion, Roscoe aims at affordable options. To decide which one is likely to succed in that area there are a few questions that need to be addressed: what are residents willing to buy, if they buy it online or drive to the stores, and, lastly, is there are already a great number of stores in the area.

The first aspect that must be understood before setting a new store is what people in Salem are willing to spend on. The growth of population, family orientation or median income does not generate a direct proxy to sucess of any store on that particular area. Executives must comprehend what type of clothes the population of Salem are willing to buy are how much they are willing to spend. If the result provide information that the resident are more prone to buy high-end design fashion, Namen would probably have a better result. On the other hand, if the analysis describes Salem's residents as more focused on more affordable clothing options, Roscoe would have a better ground to work on. However, currently there is no information on that matter, so neither option can be validated or discarded.

In addition to what resident are willing to buy, it is important to understand how they buy their clothes. Nowadays, online shopping have a ever increasing percentage of items sold and that directly influence stores and where they are placed. On that matter, even if Salem residents are more inclined to one of the two options provided by Namen and Roscoe, maybe they just buy it online and have it delivered to their doorstep. If that so, setting a store in this suburb would not be of great value to any possible competitor. To address this issue, ancilary data is required on the shopping paterns of people from Salem: information on where and how they buy clothes. This data, if positive toward brick-and-mortar stores, could underpin the installation of a store in the suburb. However, if online shopping is the predominant method in Salem, neither stores would succed there. Until additional data is gathered, there is no possibility to assess the potential of success of a store in Salem.

In an additional matter, even if Salem residents have a predisposition to go to store, maybe they already have a large number of places to choose from and any new entrant would face severe competition. Salem, as a growing suburb could have previously attracted several stores to the area and have a saturated market. A large shopping mall could have already been installed - containing high-end and affordable fashion options - and there is no need or demand for any new store in the area. That information must be provided to either sustain or debunk the decision from Namen and Roscoe.

In summary, there are a number of additional information required to define if Namen or Roscoe (or none) will succeed in Salem. What the residents of the area are willing to buy and if they buy it online or from brick-and-mortar stores are two key aspects to underpin or undermine the decision. In addition to that, information on stores currently in the area will also influence the decision.