Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

There has always been a debate on what people should study in College. Some defend that a more holistic approach should be taken. However, courses in Humanities should not be mandatory to students majoring in Business or Science. Their attention should be focused on topics related to their future careers and they should not have to pay to something that does not positively impact their required abilities.

Students will acquire skills which will have a greater impact on their future career if they focus their courses in fields related to their major. College experience is already known as very overwhelming and time consuming: in addition to classes, students must write essays, attend seminars, and sometimes research and attend conferences outside of campus. On that matter, having to spend time on classes that are not related to the student’s major will only divide the attention that could have been funneled to developing skills that will be useful to their career in the future. For instance, a student majoring in Physics would have a bigger benefit attending classes on quantic physics and Newtonian laws then political history or social science. The former would develop the knowledge that have a higher chance to be needed after college: it is very unlikely that knowledge on French Revolution will be useful to someone developing a particle accelerator. In addition to attending classes, the time spent on Humanities could be allocated to extracurricular activities as internships that develop vital skills not taught in class.

Besides time and dedication, college also requires a lot of financial expenditure from students. On that matter, more courses in Humanities would generate a higher financial burden on a topic that not necessarily will influence on the career following college. People save for college during their entire life, with situations as extreme as saving money during more than one generation. Thus, inflating the curriculum with courses not related to the major the student is aiming generate more student debt and can ultimately push people away from college.

On the other hand, some say that courses in Humanities are of great importance to anyone’s career: knowledge on aspects as History and Geography should compose a holistic approach mandatory to anyone attending college. That is mostly true, however, mandatory courses in the curriculum of someone graduating in a Sciences major should not be the path to acquire this knowledge. Nowadays, several free sources online can be leveraged to study topics not present at college. This provide a more cost and time efficient manner, since it can be done during any time the student feel the need for it.

In summary, courses in Humanities should not be a part of the curriculum of someone majoring in Business or Sciences. College is very time consuming and courses outside someone’s major will only divide the attention required to excel. In addition, it generates more debt and can ultimately push people away from college. These topics can be covered outside of college if the student feel the need.