Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

A business manager of a television station states on a memorandum that the reduction on viewership and advertisement contracts are due to the reduction of air time of local news and weather content. The conclusion of memorandum advocating for the the return of time devoted to weather and local news is based on spurious arguments. There is a need of more information on the complaints, what were the motivation for the advertisement contracts cancellations and media vehicles options to support or undermine the conclusion presented.

First of all, the managers states that complaints were mainly focused on the areas that had their time reduced. However, there is no information on the matter of those complaints: these could be due to the quality of local news and weather reporting, what is being covered on these segments and even that these two have very long air times. There is not enough information presented that links the reduction to the complaints. For this connection to be created, ancillary information is required: it is mandatory to understand what are the viewers are insatisfied about so that management can have a more direct approach. The insatisfaction could be on the reduced time of local news and weather, what would strengthen the conclusion presented on the memorandum. On the other hand, it could be related to the examples cited above or any other aspect of it, what would undermine the conclusion on the text. However, there is currently no data to support or dismiss the conclusion presented.

In addition to the complaints, the author cites cancellation of advertisements from local business as another reason to bring back local news and weather. This is problematic because there is no causality link proposed on the text. Business could be turning away from the television station due to several reasons. For instance, target demography is not a major audience of the late-night news, high fees to advertise on the program or change to internet based media vehicles. There is evidence lacking to define the real reason that led to that cancellation. There should be a survey with these business the previously adverted on the program to understand what caused the move. If the results showed that the main reason was the reduction of local news, the conclusion presented on the memorandum would be supported. However, if the results went on any other way, the author position would be weakened. Currently, there is no information that leads either way.

Lastly, in a more extreme position, viewers could be looking to something besides news and weather on television. The reduction stated on the text could be the product of a bigger movement from audience unrelated to what is being broadcasted on the program. Viewers could be turning to weather and news websites and ditching TV altogether. Thus, however the changes are on the composition of the program, it would not make the audience grow. To understand if there is any movement on that level, ancillary information is required on the habits of the targeted audience and what are the media vehicles they are using for their news and weather information. If the resulted prompeted a change on the direction of the internet, for example, the conclusion on the memorandum would be undermined.

In summary, there is not enough information to support the conclusions presented on the text. To strengthen or weaken the argument is necessary ancillary data on the matter of the complaints from the viewers, the reason from the local business to cancel their contracts and lastly, if their audience is shifting from other sources of news and weather information.