A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

It has always been discussed if there should be create a national curriculum that standardize the teaching process and scope of an entire nation. However, this possibility can be of greater harm than good. There should not be a national standard curriculum due to the possibility to become a powerful tool of government manipulation and also create constrains on the capacity to adaptations of needs and constrains of a specific classroom.

First of all, a national curriculum could provide a mechanism to led students into beliving a specific perspective dictated by a committee. Before defining the curriculum itself, there would be need to create a committee to write this standard, which mostly would be put together by the government of the nation. On that matter, it would give the administration the possibility to define the boundaries of how and what would be taugth inside classrooms throughout the country. This is specially dangerous on countries where the leaders have a very biased opinions. For instance, in a country led by a dictator, the curriculum could erase the reports of what the opposition has done in the History of that nation and propose an approach where all the actions instituted by the government are for the greater good of that country. That would develop students that believe in a specific point-of-view and have little to no aware of what really happened, harming the critical sense. Therefore, a national curriculum could become a tool to mold the masses into a shape that fits personal interests.

In addition to that, a fixed national curriculum lack the capacity to be adaptable into the students needs and constrains. Proposing a standardization of the teaching scope would be efficient if all the students had a standard learning process, which is known not to be true. Learning capabilities differ among students and a more personal approach is required in some cases to create an environment where the kids and teenagers can excel. Thus, teachers on the classrom should have the permission to adapt whats is being taught to fulfill - and most specifically how it is done - to the needs of the group of learners. For example, if a class have a better development when watching movies about a historic subject, that can become the method applied by the teachers to introduce an event and develop upon that. The national curriculum could have an approach that would not work. Therefore, personal liberties to the professional involved with the students is of great importance - and that would be hindered by a national curriculum.

In summary, a national curriculum should not be adopted by a nation. It could create a tool to define what is being taught and how it is being transferred to the students and would prevent possible adaptation to the needs of classes that can only be perceived by professional that deal with that specific group on a daily basis.