The city of Winston has two large department stores Namen and Roscoe Namen is known for its high end designer fashions while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the gr

The argument states that Namen and Roscoe and expanding in the area of Salem, one that is hitherto unexplored by either of the brands. The brands have individually come up with reasons as to why their brand will be more triumphant in capturing the crowd of Salem, based on their understanding of the spending patterns of its population. However, before the two sides can be evaluated, three questions must be answered.

First of all, does a population increase imply an increase in median income? It is possible that the strata of the population are very distinctly divided in terms of income. An increase in population could be from either of those strata and the distribution might not be equal. Further, there is a possibility that the rich get richer, and the poor get poorer, leading the median income to be somewhat stagnant. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the basis of Namen's argument is significantly weakened.

Secondly, is there no other high end store currently present in the Salem market? Namen's executives prematurely assume that all high income consumer traffic will be directed towards their store. Perhaps, there exists another premium stores in the market. Even in the case of an increase in median income, the amount of consumer gain for Namen may be diluted and not as per expected. If the above is true, then their premise for becoming more profitable does seem practical.

Lastly, is it so that family oriented people prefer affordable fashion? Roscoe's executives have based their argument on the implied assumption that family oriented people will be attracted to their store due to their price propositions. However, if on the contrary, the population increase leads to addition of more wealthy familial customers with a desire to splurge, this sweeping conclusion will not hold water.

In conclusion, as the arguments stand, are considerably weakened due to their reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the two stores are able to answer the above-mentioned questions and offer more evidence, perhaps in the form of past statistics, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of the propositions of each store regarding their profitability.