The city of Winston has two large department stores: Namen and Roscoe. Namen is known for its high-end designer fashions, while Roscoe is known for more affordable fashion options. Both Namen and Roscoe are each considering opening another store in the growing suburb of Salem, where the population has grown over 50% in the last three years and where the median income is $75,000. Namen’s executives argue that as population and median income increase, people are willing to spend more money on clothing. However, Roscoe’s executives believe that the suburbs are more family oriented, and therefore their store will be more profitable than their competitor Namen.

The City of Winston has two large department store and both wants to open the new shop in a growing suburb, where population increases in last three years up to 50% and median income of that area is $75,000. But the argument can be challenged and really needs more information to check the exact scenario and outcomes, before they move in for such a hug investment.

First thing first, there is no statistical data presented which shows the comparison of the people living in Winston to the people living in suburb of Salem. The argument needs some more details statistics, some of which are. Purchasing habits, comparison? Is there any similar store or mall doing same business? If yes, how much profits they are generating, on average. Preference of people about the purchases. If there is no store nearby, where these people are doing purchasing? These all questions needs to be answered, and a proper statistical data would be necessary to support the argument.

Secondly, median, which is $ 75,000, can not give the clear picture of the society's income and their status, however, average or arithmetic mean of their income can be helpful here. Median value, shows an ambiguity, there is a chance that below the median rate the income might be very low might be $ 5,000 to $ 7,000. And obviously, with such low income shop can not target every person there at the suburb. So, we would be needing more promising facts to prove this argument.

Thirdly, as it has been said by Roscoe's executives, "The suburb are more family oriented, and their store will be more profitable than their competitor". It is totally out of blue argument, Despite of being family oriented, they can buy high-end designer fashions. It is totally individual's choice, what he or she needs to wear and what he or she.