The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area The Hillview landfill which has

The argument states that a lucrative proposal must be offered to Autotech in order to convince them to set up their automobile manufacturing plant in Hillview. This is to provide relief to the residents, based on the fact that that several of them are unemployed after the recent shut-down of Computech. However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is the Hillview landfill an apt choice of location for Autotech's manufacturing plant? In other words, despite the fact that the site is described to be 'perfect' for the purpose, will all of the company's requirements be fullfilled by this location? It is possible that apart from the landscape size and available area, no other factors are conducive for the set-up. Further, there is a possibility that the climactic conditions of Hillview are not appropriate for the manufacturing activities. If either of these scenarios has merit, then the recommendation will not be appropriate.

Secondly, are the Hillview locals in conjunction with this proposal? Admittedly, thousands of residents are left unemployed post a recent event of abandonment by Computech. However, will the rest of the population, of in fact, even the unemployed ones be open to accepting a new manufacturing plant, that could possibly be harmful to the ennvironment. In the case that Autotech's manufacturing plant severly damanges the flora and fauna of the Hillview landfill, the public could oppose to this idea. Moreover, this plant could lead to severe air and water pollutioon by means of fumes or liquid disposal which could have a detrimental effect on Hillview's environment. If any of the above is true, ther recommendation does not hold water.

Lastly, are the Hillview people qualified for the underlying job? The recommendation prematurely assumes that a large chunk of the population will gain employment from this proposition. However, do the residents possess the required skill set to perform the activities under the job? Perhaps, even the people previously engaged with Computech are not appropriate for these new jobs as Autotech operations may be significantly different to those of Computech. The proponents not only make the sweeping assumption that the people previously employed with Computech will have a similar work profile at Autotech and thus be hired, but also assumes that any of the people will be appropriate for the job at all. In the case that the contrary is true, this suggestion is significantly flawed.

In conclusion, the argument relies on certain unwarranted assumptions that render it unconvincing as it stands. If the above mentioned questions can be answered, perhaps in the form of detailed description of the residents' skill set, the job profiles, the expected environmental impacts and son on, in the form of a systematic study, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viablity of this recommendation of authorizing a campaign to attract a manufacturing plant