The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The mayor of Hillview recommends the City Council to authorize a campaign that will attract Autotech an automobile company, to build a manufacturing plant in Hillview. The Mayor also recommends offering tax incentives to attract the company. The mayor claims that this new manufacturing unit will help solve the problem of unemployment in Hillview. While the argument does sound good, there are however certain assumptions made and some factors that need to be evaluated before arriving at the conclusion.

Firstly, the mayor says that the landfill area which has been undeveloped for decades can be used to build the manufacturing plant. The mayor assumes that this land would be suitable for the new plant. The building of a manufacturing plant depends on a lot of factors, there are certain rules and regulations that need to be followed. It is important to know whether the land being discussed complies with the requirements of a manufacturing plant area and is it suitable for the same. The land was not developed for decades, what were the reasons for the same? There might be legal disputes over ownership of the land or some other matters that have hobbled the development of this area. So it is important to know whether there are legal problems with respect to the landfill area.

Secondly, a manufacturing plant requires raw material, transport facilities, etc. Would Hillview be able to provide these amenities to the plant? These factors also need to be weighed before approaching the company for building a plant. The argument says that the new plant if built will provide employment to the people of Hillview. The building of a plant in certain city does not guarantee that the company will employ people from that city only. It might prefer employing people from neighboring cities if they are ready to work at relatively lower wages. Thus, the council needs to have an understanding or an agreement with the company that if they are authorized to build a plant they will employ people from Hill view. If such an agreement is not done beforehand the claim that the plant will reduce unemployment carries little validity.

The mayor claims that people who were unemployed last year after Computech abandoned it's national facility last year, will start working in the new plant. The skills and expertise that an individual has plays an important role in what job he/she chooses. The employees of the Computech company which was a software company have different skills from what is actually needed to work in a manufacturing plant. These are completely different industries and the people might choose not to work in the plant because that is not their line of work or expertise. Thus, the assumption that the former Computech employers will now be employed is unwarranted.

Thus, there are a lot of factors that the council needs to evaluate before authorizing a campaign and trying to attract the Autotech company. It needs to have a holistic view of the situation and work rigorously on all aspects ranging from evaluating the area under discussion to the requirements of an automobile plant to the amount of employment provided by such a plant.