Sports stars and movie stars have an obligation to behave as role models for the young people who look up to them In return for the millions of dollars that they are paid we should expect them to fulfill this societal responsibility

The lives of sports and movie stars are ones of humungous interest and intrigue to the general public. To say that one simply looks up to them is an understatement. in many cases, these starts are idolized by the public. The prompt claims that in return of the millions of dollars paid to them, it must be expected of them to behave and carry themselves as role models for the youth. In my opinion, I disagree with this sugegstion and argue that they must not be indebted to do so, however acknowledging the fact that they have a strong pedestial in the society, for three main reasons.

To begin, it is imperative to understand that most of the movie and sports stars have worked their way to this position where they are viewed with such admiration. In most cases than not, they are completely deserving of the remuneration they are paid, since this fame has been in the works for several years. Thus, to say that they are expected to behave a certain way in exchange for the money they are paid, indirectly debases their hardwork and persevarence over the years to fame. For instance, Neeraj Chopra, an Olympian gold medalist for javelline, started in the most humble setting of life, overcoming a multitude of hardships to reach this stage today. So is it fair to tell him now that he is obliged to behave a certain way? I believe not.

Furthermore, these celebrities are just as human as we are. To admire them is one thing, however to put them on such a high pedestial that they are considered almost God-like is not appropriate. Consequently, to vest in them the power to unquestionably influence the youth can prove to be severly detrimental in the long run. To elaborate, if a sports star is promoting an energy drink with concealed health hazards, the unaware and naive youth is likely to get highly infulenced and consume the product based on the testament of the star.

However, it is highly important to identify that this power is given by the public itself hence it is in the best interest to moderate this indirect control. This "obligation" can be perceived as their authority on the public, hence must not be encouraged. However, it is essential to understand that they youth today is most influenced by these stars, even more than their peers, parents, or academic heroes. Consequently, it is of utmost benefit if these stars project themselves in positive light, such that the youth learns and flourishes by looking up to them. For instance, Tom Cruize's campaign in the past regarding the importance of leading a fit life had created a row on social media, encouraging all to take part in a fitness challenge. Research continually shows that young adukts are most likely to absorb hard-hitting information from those who they admire. Thus, these wealthy influential starts, must in fact take it upon them to guide the young people.

Of course, there is a very thin boundary between expecting the stars to behave a certain way, and holding them accountable for not doing so. Although such projection of behaviour from stars must be appreciated, it must not be forced upon them.