The best way for a society to prepare its young people fore leadership in government industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagre

Leadership in today's day and age is not just about a person's innate skills. It also includes public response and support for the leadership and that may require one to deliberately inculcate certain traits. The prompt states that in order to make a young adult ready to take on leadership roles, importance of a sense of cooperation supersedes that of competition. In my opinion, while both are imperative, a competitive attitude is more essential to be a successful leader for the following reasons.

Firstly, the world is increasingly becoming more fast paced and people are adopting the "hustle culture" more than ever before. The age to shape one's life is now the prime twenties, which is a significant shift from the past situation. Consequently, it is a given that the world outside is brutally competitive, and in order to be a successful leader one must be appropriately equipped to survive in that competition. For instance, the booming start up culture amongst young adults clearly depicts how a company can easily perish if the leadership is not fit to compete with others in the space. Research has consistently shown that a laid- back attitude towards competitors can cause takeovers or bankrupcy, as was the case for the food delivery app Uber Eats in India. Hence, to say that a sense of competition is essential to get a true picture of the real- world problems, would not be an overstatement.

Further, a sense of competition can approriately act as a galvanizing agent, pushing the youth to do their level best. Healthy competition should be encouraged, while also making sure that it is kept under check and to not create a toxic work environment. To further the previous example, had Uber Eats recognized their competition in Zomato and taken the challenge head-on, the company would have realised its strength in intra-state deliveries and capitalized on the same. However, due to a complacent attitude and style of leadership, the company failed to push back and prove their mettle, and were not fueled enough to capture the market. This instance only further demonstrates the importance of a competitive mindset.

Nevertheless, it is true that a sense of cooperation can help a leader in guiding their organisation to long term success. Needless to say, a leader who is not cooperative towards his/ her employees, teammates, customers and competitiors will sooner or later be driven out of the market. For instance, one need look no further than Apple and its perennial success, owing to Steve Jobs' leadership. Apple is one of the best companies to work at in the world due to its company culture of promoting cooperation and mutual respect. Admittedly, if the company had not been humble enough to cooperate with large competitors such as Samsung and Google, even when these companies were performing better in the market, Apple would have been a long gone name. Thus, it can be said without a doubt that cooperation too is an essential leadership trait.

In conclusion, as seen from the above- mentioned discussion, there is no definitive answer to this claim. Of course there are some people who believe that cooperation is of utmost importance and a leader cannot be effective in its absence. However, it is clear that without a competitive attitude, cooperation will just be treated as a weakness and will be taken for granted by others in the real world.