The best way for a society to prepare its young people fore leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

What is the best way for a society to prepare its youth for the real world, through teaching them cooperation or competition? On one hand, obtaining good jobs and moving up in a company may require competition when there is a lot of interest in those positions. On the other hand, practically all fields and jobs require people to cooperate and work in collaboration with others. When looking at the evidence, it becomes clear that it is more important to teach children cooperation than competition as cooperation is essential in the complex world welive in, and because although being competitive has it's place, it is ultimately cooperation that will be essential for greater success in a wide variety of career paths.

Some may state that it is more important to teach children to be competitive because that is how they will be able to get jobs that are indeed competitive. Consider for example becoming a politition. In order to become a politition you must have the drive to compete against many other candidates and convice the voters why you are the best choice. This competitiveness may help them to continue and push forward in their careers even if they fail the first time and it may give them the drive necessary to put in long hours and work hard in order to gain an advantage over their competitors. However, it is absolutely essential in politics to cooperate and work with individuals in other political parties for example. Therefore, it is actually the candidates who are able to effectively cooperate with others who are more likely to accomplish more. When polititions are incapable of cooperation, issues arrise such as the 2018 governmental shutdown, which occured when the democratic and republican representatives were unable to cooperate with each other to find an acceptable solution to their disagreements conserning the national budget. This illustrates that while competition may be helpful in giving someone the drive to fight for a position, cooperation is even more important because it will be essential for their success in that position.

Additionally, many fields and industries are extremely interdiciplinary and require colaboration with many different kinds of people in order to succeed. Therefore, it will be the individuals who are most able to cooperate who will have an advantage as they will be able to benefit more from the skills that others offer. Consider for example two groups of environmental scientists who would like to publish work describing actions one should take against climate change. One group may be competative and want their puplication to reach the public first. This competitiveness may give them the drive to work hard and quickly, but they may not cooperate with other scientific groups and therefore their knowledge and their publication will likely be more limited in scope and practicality. Meanwhile the other group could cooperate with other scientific groups or groups in other fields from business to politics by sharing their research colaboratively. Through this mutual spreadinig of knowledge, their publication could be significantly amelliorated compared to the first competitive group. Therefore, coopertation is also important for the spreading of knowledge and the achievement of bigger more complex goals, such as those presented by climate change.

In conclusion, competition may be important as a driving force to work hard and to push into a field. However, cooperation is significantly more important as it is practically impossible to work in this day and age without cooperating with others. Those in politics must be able to cooperate with others in order to acheive anything, and those in other fields such as research can greatly benefit their scope of research through cooperation with other scientific groups. Therefore, as we move forward, it will be essential to teach our young people the importance of cooperation in whatever career they choose so that they can be properly prepared to work in the complex word we live in.