Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader it is not as important as a leader s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers

An effective leader must possess certain distinct charcter traits, so as to be successful in leading their team in order to achieve their goals. The prompt states that although sound moral judgement is one such crucial characteristic of a leader, it does not supersede the importance of respecting his or her peers. In my opinion, moral judgement is at the apex of essential traits, and that once a leader is morally in a sound space, other traits follow the same path for the following three reasons.

Firstly, moral judgement is an indicator of the value system of a leader. Consquently, the moral beliefs of a person reflect their intentions and desired path to reach success. For instance, Ratan Tata in the past has demonstrated that a sound moral belief system not only aids in gaining public trust and goodwill, it contributes to a much larger purpose within the organisation. Adding to that, the Tata Group, through several philanthropic deeds over the course of more than fifty years, has depicted the importance of taking a utilitarian approach that does maximum good for all. The above example illustrates that sound moral judgement can aid in driving a company to success.

Secondly, in the case of a leader having a sound moral decision making system, his or her peers gain a level of confidence in the leadership style. Furthermore, a sense of trust and respect is instilled in the company culture. Resultantly, the peers feel at ease, and appreciate the way they are treated. For an example, one need look no further than a simple scenario that may occur in any organisation. If one is asked to extend work hours due to excessive load, it is highly likely for one to take the same in a sporting manner if the company dealings are morally sound, rather than in the contrary case. Hence, this only depicts the importance of a sound moral decision making system.

However, it goes without saying that respect is a basic human right, and to be deprived of the same is morally incorrect. Thus, a morally "correct" leader will inadevertently have it ingrained in him/ her to treat his/her peers appropriately with utmost respect. For instance, Steve Jobs, at Apple has created a healthy atmostphere of mutual respect and admiration. In fact, this is a basic result of his fundamental style of leadership, that has now made Apple one of the best companies to work at in the world, owing to its culture. As a result, it can be correctly understood from this example, that a leader with strong morality has a trait of treating all his/ her peers with respect.

Of course some might argue that it is respect that dictates the environment of a company. However, in reality, it is the moral belief system of a leader which impacts the entire company culture, and a sound moral judgement is most likely to result in a respectful environment.