Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Leader should have a sound moral judgement but what is more important is gaining and maintaining the respect of his or her peers. A leader needs to recognize each and every individuals presence, while acknowledging the fact that everyone under him is important.

A leader only becomes a leader when he gains the trust and respect of his followers. Give Respect and Take Respect, is the mantra the leader needs to follow. Respect of the followers gives an assurance to the leader that the followers will follow their captain till the end irrespective of the hardships or obstacles faced along the journey. This very fact is very crucial as it is not just the leader who has to cross the line of success but the entire team needs to work together to achieve a specific goal with the captain leading in the front. For this to happen a certain amount of trust and respect is most important for a leader to gather amongst his peers.

However, it is also true that decisions cannot be disregarded as not important for a leader. An immoral judgement can have negative effects on the team with the leader losing respect. For example, suppose a leader who is responsoble for taking major decisions of a country brings up a policy agianst the very voters who voted for him during the elections, might endup getting overthrown with protests. This very act of wrong decisons can lead a leader to betray his supporters thereby losing their respect.

Therefore a leader must work on both of the characteristics. With a respectful attitutde for his team and a morally sound judgement with fairness and unbaised opinion can get him more respect from his team mates.