"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recomendation by the Super Screen Movie Production Company memo concludes that a greater share of its budget needs to be allocated next year for advertising, however there are several unwarranted assumptions stated by the Super Screen Movie Production Company which makes its main conclusion weak. In the following paragraphs I will point out some of the unwarranted assumptions that will make the argument flawed and how it can be strenghtened by providing supporting facts or figures.

Firstly, the company assumes that the exisiting advertisements targeted at its consumers are not reaching them. The assumption here is unjustified as there could be a possiblility that the advertisements are reaching the prospective viewers but are simply not entertaining. The ads might not actually be highlighting the important aspects of the Production Company. If this is the case then the company should focus on increasing the quality of its ads rather than focusing on the volume of its ads reachability.

Secondly, the passage does not justify the number of people who gave posiitive reviews about its specific Super Screen movies. We definitely know that the people who attended the previous year were more than the current year but that is not alone enough to tell that the number of people who gave reviews this year were more than previous year. For example, say last year 14 people attended and out of them 7 gave positive reviews that is about 50% gave positive reviews. And this year say 6 attended and 5 gave positive reviews, which is >90%. This does not suggest anything about how good the movie was because maybe the movie goers who turned out this year were already influenced by the director of the movie. It could be that people who did not turn out this time if they had happened to come may not have liked the movie at all.

Therefore the above are some of the assumptions that if justifications were provided with details and examples could strengthen the passage. The main conclusion could by made strong by providing the specificity of how many consumers did it reach and probably what content is being showcased in its ads like is it relevant to their product. Staistics could enhance the 2nd para.