"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies

Super Screen Movie Production Company believes that the decrease in viewership for their movies is due to the public's lack of awareness of good quality movies. Various assumptions have been made to arrive at this conclusion and a strict examination of the following factors is critical to validate the stated conclusion.

The primary assumption made in the argument is that there is a correlation between movie viewership and reviews from critics. An evaluation of this assumption is required since the conclusion will differ significantly if other factors have been found to be better predictors of public's movie viewing habits. A specific example could be the rise of streaming services and the quality of home theaters. A reasonable case can be made that a rise in streaming services may lead to lowering of movie viewership if there is data showing an increase of streaming service subscription.

Another question that requires answering is the past performance of the marketing department. A report from a marketing department that has a proven track record of such conclusions is more trustworthy than that of a fledgling marketing department. Ninety nine percent of all startups fail because they do not have good marketing departments that can help them figure out public's reception to their products. With a good marketing department that has previous experience, the probability of the marketing deparment missing public's perception reduces.

Finally, an evaluation of the marketing department's methodology is required to understand the reliability of their report. If trends have been extracted with insufficient data, it may lead to overfitting and incorrect conclusions; which is the hallmark of an incorrect methodology. Many examples can be found where incorrect results have been obtained due to insufficient data. A simple example could be extrapolating one's experiences as that of societry as whole which often leads to confirmation bias.

In conclusion, while it may seem like there is an obvious relationship between the statement and the conclusion there needs to be an extensive evaluation of the correlation between the factors, past performance of the department and the methodology adopted by the department before a conclusion can be reached.