Teachers' salaries should be based on their students' academic performance.

Good teachers are a critical component of a good school. Teachers take on the daunting task being surrogate parents who are tasked with disciplining students when and teaching students to be functioning members of our society which requires an incredible amount of knowledge and patience. Over the past few years there is a growing fear among parents that the quality of schools is going down due to the apathy of teachers and that there is a need to rejuvenate schools through new policies. One such policy states that teachers should be paid based on a quantitative measurement of their students academic performance. On the surface this might seem like a good policy, but there are various issues associated with it.

Chief among the issues is that academic performance of students depends on various factors that are out of the control of teachers. There is a growing body of research that shows a positive correlation between various factors such as active involvement from parents in their children’s life, access to resources, two parent households, genetics and the overall academic performance of a student. Given that most of these factors cannot be controlled by teachers it would be unfair to judge them based on the grades of their students.

Another important factor to consider is that there is a possibility that such a system will lead to widespread corruption in the school system. While proponents of such policies might state these policies incentivize teachers to work harder and make sure their students understand the topics being taught, the flip side of this might be that the tests conducted will be made easier to make sure everybody can get good grades. This will lead to widespread grade inflation which in turn leads to dilution of the quality of students graduating.

Finally, it can be argued that the overall success of students, thereby teachers, does not solely depend on grades. There are many factors, team building skills, class participation, and discipline to name a few, that are critical in becoming a function member of society. These soft skills are difficult to quantify and the new policy is dis-incentivize teachers from helping students develop them.

Based on the aforementioned reasons, it can be seen that there is a stark difference between stated goals of the policy and the ground reality. Such short sighted policies will have a large impact of students’ development and should not be implemented.