Those who see their ideas through regardless of doubts or criticism others may express are the ones who tend to leave a lasting legacy

Self- reliance is one, if not the most important aspect of growth of an individual. The capacity of trusting one's gut is not always innate, and through conscious self-work, can turn the fortunes of people. The prompt argues that people who can see their own ideas taking shape in the future, can make a mark for themselves and generations to come, regardless of the multitude of hindrances they might encounter on their path to success. I strongly agree with the same for three reasons.

To begin, creativity and innovation knock the door of many, but there are only a handful of people who actually take the risk of implementation. This is a mere combination of skill and self- confidence. If one has the ability to place trust in these two aspects, it is highly likely that one will pave a way, or rather break ground for themselves. For instance, at a time when technological advancement was not at peak in India, Narayan Murthy, a small- town man from a very humble background envisioned transforming the information technology sector in the country. Despite harsh criticism and several situations that seemed like dead-ends, his belief in himself and his idea enabled him to make history.

Secondly, I believe that in the process of facing harsh criticism and crippling doubt, one who sees their ideas through, has the ability to turn a deaf ear to the same and build endurance against it. Once one is immune the same, a sense of vengeance is instilled, a sense of proving people wrong. Elaborating on the previous instance, the wife of Narayan, Sudha Murthy was among the first female engineering students in the country who shared the same vision as Narayan. Consequently, she was constantly belittled and her motives were questioned by the society. However, since she was outright adamant to prove her criticisers wrong, she, in fact, did so.

Furthermore, if we assume that one tackles all the hardhips faced on the way to success, one most likely turns their haters into admirers. The ability to reach the pinnacle despite the immense doubt, is a testament of trustworthiness. Research has constantly shown that people who face hardships early in their career are most likely to work their way to success.

Of course, some argue that one's ability to see their ideas through is not an integral part of making it to the apex. However, this would indicate that success is purely an amalgamation of external factors. Therefore, to state that it is an imperative factor in leaving a lasting legacy, would not be incorrect.