Science and technology will one day be able to solve all of society s problems Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your

Science and technology have enabled man to achieve the unimaginable, and we can only try to predict future developments in this space. The promt states that science and technology will one day be able to provide remedies to all of society's problems. In my opinion, I disagree with this notion and believe that technological advancements will not aid as support to eradicate certain problems, for the following reasons.

Firstly, technological improvements in umpteen sectors and industries have overshadowed the importance of humans. In other words, some job profiles have become redundant owing to technology and equipments. For instance, the manufacturing industry, be it for shoes, watches, or any other consumer goods, has seen a clear shift from human employees to automated systems. In fact, statistics show that majority of the unemployment in today's day and age is due to the takeover by machines. Moving on, a study has shown that in the next ten years, there will be more self driven cars on the road compared to ones with drivers, hence making the job of a taxi driver redundant. In this case, future development and sophistication of technology will put people out of jobs and aggrevate the issue of unemployment. Consequently, developing countries will be severly affected.

Secondly, novel scientific ideas have created a boom in the appliances and gadgets space. The ease and speed of life of the people using these gadgets has therefore improved majorly. Resultantly the stark difference between rich and poor seems to keep increasing. This can be gauged in terms of increasing poverty of aspirational segment of the society, who buy these products, when in fact they cannot afford them. Moreover, these devices have caused several health concerns due to increased sceen times, lack of body moevement and so on. This illustration clarifies that science and technology can also become the root cause of several societal problems.

However, unfathomable innovations and ideas have enabled tremendous growth and prosperity around the globe. Admittedly, hospital equipment and devices are better at detecting and curing diseases. Research proves that this has been a major contributing factor in the reduction of infant mortality rates, and the increase in expected life of people all over the world. Additionally, at-home detection with portable blood pressure monitors, blood sugar level indicators for diabetes patients, oxygen cylinders and several other devices has indubitably improved the ease for patients. Further developments in this space will only make early detection of diseases easier and quicker, hence providing solutions to several problems.

In conclusion, it is clear from the above- mentioned discussion that there is no definitive answer to this claim. It is absolutely possible that future enhancements in science and technology solve some serious issues of today, but the counter effect can not be ignored, since its impact is quite massive as well. Hence, to say that it will solve "all" of society's problems, is an overstatement.