The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville Over the past three years there has been a marked increase in cases of sidewalk rage similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road but instead among sidewalk walkers The resul

The petition to the city council suggests that a ban must be imposed on cellphone use on sidewalks to reduce cases of sidewalk rage. The suggestion is made on the basis of a similar implementation in Middletown. However, before this recommendation can be entirely evaluated, three pieces of evidence must be appropriately presented.

Firstly, the petition has made a sweeping assumption that all cases of sidewalk rage are the result of cell phone usage. In other words, it is indirectly stated that little to no cases will erupt in the future if there is no cell phone usage on the sidewalks. It is possible that maximum instances take place owing to the fact that the sidewalks are severely narrow to accomodate the pedestrians. Additionally, it can also be the case that the children play and run on the sidewalks, and since they are too short to be noticed, adults bump into them. This rage can also be attributed to a multitude of other factors of a person's personal life. Hence, evidence of the cause of these episodes is essential to analyse the situation. If either of these scenarios has any merit, then the suggestion does not hold any water.

Secondly, even if it is assumed that majority cases take place due to texting and phone usage, what is the guarantee that people will not take to other methods of keeping their mind engaged while walking? This means that texting is not the only engaging activity on can do. A study must be undertaken to understand the walkers' preferences. For instance, what if a ban on phones pushes people to read while walking, or do stretching exercises? This will only prove to aggrevate the problem. Furthermore, group walking could become more popular, and people might talk to one other and walk parallelly while blocking majority of the sidewalk width. In the above mentioned cases, the authors suggestion will be significantly weakened.

Lastly, the suggestion makes a bold assumption that since the intended result was observed in Middletown, the same will take place for Centreville as well. This means that Middletown and Centreville are, in fact, the same in terms of road infrastructure, people mentalities and several other factors. However, it is possible that Middletown is a less busy town with people who are generally more calm and friendly. It can also be the case that the sidewalks there are wider and have more lanes. Admittedly, it is possible that Middletown's result will be emulated, but quantitative evidence with respect to the similarities of the two towns must be presented. Nevertheless if any of these possibilities are true, the suggestion is flawed.

In conclusion, this recommendation, as it stands, is considerably weakened due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the above stated assumptions can be clarified and the appropriate evidence is provided, perhaps in tems of a research study, then this recommendation of banning cell phones on sidewalks can be fully evaluated.