The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument states that by banning the use of cell phones on sidewalk would decrease the cases if sidewalk rage which generally lead to assaults, property damage, etc. in Centerville similar to Middletown The argument is based on several faulty assumptions which makes it very weak to follow.

Firstly, it assumes that the two cities Centerville and Middletown are identical in every aspect and thus whatever works in one , will definitely work in the other. The assumption is completely absurd as the two cities could differ at many levels, namely, the population size, the sidewalk area, number of sidewalks, number of criminals in the city, number of people who use cell phones on the sidewalk etc. which could very well affect the frequency of sidewalk rage due to the use of cell phones. If the cities are indeed similar then it could surely strengthen the argument, so this evidence is clearly required to evaluate the argument.

Secondly, the argument takes into the consideration, that the use of cell phones on sidewalk is the ultimate cause of the sidewalk crimes which is very hard to believe. Since, there could be many factors that would cause sidewalk rage like, anger management issues, increase in number of criminals in the city who could even attack people not using a cell phone or damaged sidewalks which could be major factor in disrupting pedestrian traffic. Thus, a proper study must be performed to prove the claim that the use of cell phones are the main cause for street violence.

Lastly, the case of Middletown that the argument states also is not very strong. There is no clear evidence to prove that the incidents of sidewalk rage has decreased only due to the ban on the use of mobiles on sidewalks, as the reduction in crime reports could be merely due to a decrease in number of criminals on the street, effective law enforcements, more number of law abiding citizens or the citizens are unlikely to complain due to their busy schedule and thus the reported complains have gone down. So, a detailed investigation and analysis should be done to figure out the main cause of the decrease in reported sidewalk crimes which could either strengthen or weaken the argument.

Due to many stated and unstated faulty assumptions that the argument considers the argument stays unvalid until the stated evidences are procured.