Paleo diets in which one eats how early hominids human ancestors did are becoming increasingly popular Proponents claim our bodies evolved to eat these types of food especially bone broth a soup made by cooking animal bones for several hours They

The argument states that the recent gain in popularity of Paleo diets is a result of its ability to cure several chronic diseases. The author suggests so, on the basis of the strong metabolic and inflammatory system of our ancestors. However, before this suggestion is properly evaluated, three assumptions must be clarified.

Firstly, the author attributes the fact that the people who consume bone broth are healthier only to the consumption of the broth. In other words, people with chronic diseases are affected since they do not consume any bone broth. It is possible that the lifestyle and health profiles of these two segments of people are completely different. Further, it can also be true that people are affected by chronic diseases as a pure result of their genetics, and that it has no relation whatsoever with bone marrow consumption. If either of these cases has any merit, then the suggestion does not hold water.

Secondly, it is assumed that the consumption of animal bone marrow is appropriate and healthy for humans. Without any solid proof, this sweeping assumption can pose several health hazards. In fact, it is possible that cooking animal bones for several hours changes the composition and biological sequence of the constituents, which perhaps may be fatal. Additionally, it may also be the case that the human digestion system is not well- adapted to digest the complex proteins present in animal cartilage and chondroitin. In either of the above- stated scenarios, the author's suggestion will not hold true and will in fact, be dangerous.

Lastly, even if the assumption of attributing ancient humans' superior health solely to their diet is true, this does not guarantee this will be the case in today's world. In short, the author implies the conditions in the ancient world, are the same as they are today. For that matter, chronic diseases today may be caused more due to the hectic lifestyle of people. Additionally, the quality of air, water and produce consumed in today's world may significantly differ and this might majorly contribute to the occurrence of these diseases. In that case, the author's suggestion is significantly weakened.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to clarify the above stated assumptions, possibly in the form of a systematic and detailed research study, then it will be possible to entirely evaluate the viability of the recommendation of mirroring ancient eating patterns to combat diseases.