Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society especially among children Others believe that children s peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children s beh

In todays's fast paced world ehich is evolving at an ever- increasing speed, the rise of media has had an impressionable effect on each one's life- be it children or adults. The prompt proposes two views about the influences on society and moreover children's behavior, which although independent, are not contradictory. I agree with the view that the media has an unquestionable imprint on children and adults of this generation, for the following reasons.

Firstly, it is an undeniable fact that this is the age of social media. The availability of smart phones and the internet in general has steeply increased children's exposure to the outside world. Consequently, the youth of this generation is very much aware of the violence and unstabilities prevalent in the society. For instance, through various mediums of media such as the fairly recent video content and blogs posted online, children are aware about what is currently happening, with little or no filtering. To further this, news about political unrest and wars are posed to them with brutal details that are not healthy for their age group. One can only try to restrict the amount and type of information their kids receive, but the truth is that once a device is handed to the children, there is no control on the influx of information. The above example can leave a negative impact, and in some ways have an effect on the children's mental development, increasing violence amongst the society, moreover children.

Furthermore, media is viewed as not only entertainment, but a primary source of information to be abreast with events through out the world. In fact, one consumes information about the behavior and actions of other people without any active retrospection about its aptness. Naturally, one does not completely analyse the information they receive, especially children. For instance, if a celebrity has had a recent public outburst, one may likely believe that such behavior is acceptable. The end result is that media does not necessarily inform about how appropriate certain actions or activities are, and the society simply replicates the same without any due deliberation.

Nevertheless, children's peer groups and parental role models are also a high influence on children's behavior. This immediate environment is the source of the validation they crave. On one hand, idealistic parental behavior may mould the child to have a strong value system, but the contrary could be true if the peer group is a negative influence. For supporting examples, one need look no further than a simple case of contradiction wherein a simple fight with a classmate is encouraged by a child's peers, but severely criticised by parents. In this case, what will the child do? Is he remorseful for his actions, or has a snse of validation from his friends? In sum, both the views are true in having an impact on a child's behavior. However, t is clear that media has a more long-lasting and severe impact on the society as a whole due to its unfiltered nature. This can lead to formations of opinions and character traits, ones that can be very difficult to change.