The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument here states a proposal made by Apex corporation about making Gourment select one of the top sellers in the coffee market. The proposal is to introduce Gourmet Select coffee into major supermarkets and after a few months, simultaneously release the brand into several major chain television and advertising campaigns. Although this argument has some merits, it is riddled with quite a few unstated assumptions and unless we determine the veracity of these assumptions, the success of Gourmet coffee cannot be guaranteed.

The argument here states that after intoducing Gourmet coffee into major supermarkets, word-of-mouth will spread and it will sustain sales. The argument does not provide any backing for this assertion. It is entirely possible that people do not like the taste of this coffee and a negative word of mouth spreads which will hamper the sales and it will create difficulty to sustain this Gourmet coffee. It is also possible that in some parts, people like the coffee and in some areas, they do not. In this case, positvie word of mouth will spread in some areas and negative word-of-mouth will spread in other areas. This does not guarantee sustainibility. The argument also assumes that word-of-mouth alone is suffice for the new customers to try out the coffee. It does not give any backing for this. In spite of good word-of-mouth, it is entirely possible that people will not drink Gourmet coffee from Apex corporation.

The argument also states that after a few months, Apex corporation wil run advertising campaign and introduce the brand to several major chain restaurants. Here, 'few months' is a vague language. It is possible that the argument meant 12-14 months to be few months and the consumers might not like the taste of the coffee after 12-14 months. The consumers might reach their saturation level of drinking Gourmet coffee after a few months. In short, we do not know the behavioral pattern of consumers after a few months, so we cannot prove it that people will still like Gourmet coffee after a few months.

The argument also states that it will run advertising campaigns aimed at television and radio while simultaneously relaeasing brand into major chain restaurants. Here, the argument is assuming that these advertisements will reach people in the first place and the major chain restaurants will be accepting Gourmet coffee from Apex corporation into their menu. Coffee drinkers are usually young people and it is possbile that the young people are not interested on listening Radios, so this method of advertising might not work. The argument also does not take into account the competitors of Apex corporation selling Gourmet coffee. The argument itself states that there is an increased demand of the Artisan coffee, so it is entirely possible that a lot of major Coffee companies will start their own Gourmet coffee.

To strengthen this argument, the argument should clearly establish a correlation between Consumer demands between first introducing the coffee and running advertising campaings. The arugment should also take into account the competition for Artisan coffee. Apex corporation should also conduct some research on the propostion that people will come after good word-of-mouth spreads initially and Apex corporation needs to enusre that the quality of coffee and pricing are good so that a good word-of-mouth spreads.

Due to all the assumptions like consumer expectations will be same after a few months, quality of Gourmet coffee will be good so that a positive word of mouth spreads and if that the advertising campaign will reach masses , it is difficult to determine whether this strategy will work and it does not make the argument cogent.