The following is a petition to the city council of Centerville:

"Over the past three years, there has been a marked increase in cases of 'sidewalk rage,' similar to the irrational anger drivers experience on the road, but instead among sidewalk walkers. The result is an increase in assaults, property damage, and disruptions of normal pedestrian traffic. In order to address this growing problem, the council must ban cell phone use on sidewalks. Not only do people texting or using their phones slow down pedestrian traffic, but they are also more likely to walk into the road or bump into other walkers. Children are especially vulnerable because they are too short to be easily seen. Middletown passed such a ban and not only have they heard no complaints, but the reported incidents of sidewalk crime has gone down significantly."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The petition to the city of Centerville states that banning the use of cell phones on sidewalks can decrease the number of reported incidents of sidewalk crime. However, the petition is riddled with quite a few assumptions which are not mentioned in a lucid manner and thus warrants for a review.

The first assumption this argument states the petition states is that Middletown has passed such a ban and the the number of sidewalk crimes has reduced significantly. we cannot compare this ban on two different cities just like that without any examinations determining the similarities between the two cities. It is possible that the economic condition of Middletown is not as good as that of Centerville and many people do not have phones with them. If a lot of people in Middletown do not use phones, then there is a very less chance that they are going to use their phones on the sidewalks and hence less number of sidewalk crimes are reported. The petition also does not state if before passing the cellphone ban, if Middletown reported many sidewalk crimes like Centerville.

The second assumption this argument states is that banning phones will be a solution to reducing sidewalk crimes. It is possible that the most of the crimes are not caused by usage of cellphones. The petition further does not explicitly mention how many sidewalk crimes are due to the usage of cellphones. It is possible that most of the sidewalk crimes happen during early morning when people are running on the sidewalks to do their daily exercise and that is the major reason for causing the sidewalk crimes. To be more pellucid, the petition should have stated or conducted a survey on determing the reason on the sidewalk crimes.

The third assumption this argument states is that people will circumvent around this ban and be eventually be using a digital equipment similar to a cellphone. Nowadays there are a lot of smart-watches available which can function as a good a normal celphone, people can text, make a call and do all the things which can disrupt traffic and lead to sidewalk rage as the petition suggests. People can also put their cellphones in their pocket and converse via bluetooth, thereby nulling the whole point of the ban. Had the ban would be on all the digital devices on which can make a call or a text, thereby disrupting your concentration and increasing your chance to bump into other pedestrains, this assumption is basically void.

Due to these all assumptions, the petition is not cogent and does not guarantee that banning of cellphones will necessarily decrease the sidewalk rage crimes in Centerville.