Green tea has long been hailed as an excellent source of antioxidants, powerful anti-aging and immune-system boosting compounds. Many people therefore believe that the more cups they consume each day, the greater the benefits. Green tea, however, contains moderate amounts of caffeine, a stimulant that is not without side effects, including sleeplessness, irritability, and headaches. A long-term study has found that those who drink more than three cups of green tea a day are likely to have symptoms similar to those that chronic coffee drinkers, another source of caffeine, suffer. Therefore, it is important that anyone who chooses to drink green tea limit their intake to no more than two cups a day.

The prompt suggests that people who drink green tea should not consume more than two cups of green tea a day, due to the presence of Caffene in green tea regardless of other health benefits involved. This assertion made in the prompt is based in a study that points out that people who consume more than two cups of green tea suffer from symptoms like sleeplessness, irritability and headaches. Although, this maybe the case, but more evidence is required to make such a suggestion.

Firstly, data needs to be collected about the brand and ingredients/ variety of green tea people majorly consume. This data then needs to be compared with how many people among such consumers have been observing symptoms of headaches, irritability and sleeplessness. For instance, if their are 20 thousand people in a selected area of study who consume green tea on a regular bases. Among these 20 thousand people 2 thousand consume green tea from a company A whereas other 18 thousand consume green tea form company B. The survey conducted in this area shows that 18 thousand people are facing the symptoms similar to caffeine. After further reasearch, it has been found that, the company A mix ginger and other spices to their green tea that make people experience these symptoms that seem to be similar to caffeine symptoms, but are actually not. Therefore , it is important to study the ingrediants and varieties often consumed by people in any region before making any such remarks or suggestions, otherwise the sugegstion will not be completly reliable and will also hurt sales of certain green tea producing buisenesses.

Further, it needs to be research whether people who were involeved in the study mentioned in prompt were not having any other health issues. This data is important before making any suggestions over consumption of green tea because there are numerous causes of irritability, headaches and sleeplessness in the popoulation these days, For example, a person who consumes five cups of green tea every day observes frequent sleeplessness. Due to getting less sleep during the night the person suffers from headache during the day causing him to get irritated quickly. When consulting the doctor over this issue he found out the he has cronic stress due to hectic day schedule causing all the symptoms similar to high caffeine consumption. Although, the cause of sleeplessness may be caffeine present in green tea, but the possiblity of underlying health issues can not be completely denied and with the lack of evidence it makes people ignore them, making it aggreviate further.

Lastly, it is important to study what all other food and drinks are consumed by people who drink green tea. For instance, a person drinks 4 cups of green tea a day, but apart from it, he also drink three cups of coffee everyday, Now, because green tea has relatively lower amount of caffeine, the symptoms the person is facing are actually created by coffee. In such a scenario, not drinking green tea anymore may not be of any use and the person will continue facing the same issues.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now does not hold water and more evidence ( preferably in form of systematic research study) needs to be provided in order to make any such conclusion. Without the required evidence any other cause of the above symptoms may be overlooked causing further damage to people's health.