Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Children today are extremely influenced by technology. People fro past generations have memories of playing outside with their friends, but this is not the case with the modern generation children. They are more interested in playing games in their computers. The prompt suggests that playing computer games is a waste of time for children. I agree with this suggestion due to the following three reasons.

Firstly, children who play computer games are so addicted to it that they avoid going out at all. This leads to a kind of addiction for such games causing children to become introverts. For instance, if a kid plays his favourite game for 3 hours a day, this time slowly increases and becomes as long as 5 hours every day. It not only impacts their outdoor activities but social development as well. Spending such long hours in front of a computer screen makes them become dependent on it for entertainment. This not only impacts their social life but also their physical health and growth.

Furthermore, playing computer games for long hours negatively impacts eyesight. Children should not be exposed to computer games from an early age as their eyes are relatively prone to excessive strain caused by the blue light emitted from the screens. A new survey has been conducted by the National Eyecare organisation, which elucidates surprising data; about 50 percent of the children in current population require specs and complain of eye inflammation during certain times of the day. To study the probable causes of such emerging trend, a study has been conducted which highlighted a finding that the cause of majority of the modern day eye problems specially in case of children is due to increased exposure to screens and long hours in front of computer games and television. These results of the research are concerning both for parents as well as the government, as children are the future of any country.

Lastly, computer games these days involve objectionable content such as videos or pictures involving violent fights. This has been impacting the children;s behaviours towards their friends as well as parents. Children are learning incorrect way of dealing with issues from video games that also leads to fight between them and their friends/parents. There are games such as GTA San Andreas that involve excessive violence and blood spill; making such things common and right in children's perspective.Whenever a child gets to interested in a video game like this, it usually gets a negative reaction from parents; leading to a verbal debate between parents and children; leading to alterations in the behaviours of these children towards their parents. Most parents do not approve of their children spending too much time on the computer leading to clashes.

Some may argue that playing computer games make children improve problem solving skills, but is it really worth the consequences of prolonged hours in front of computer screens causing health as well as psychological issues. Therefore, government of the country as well as parents of children should become more aware and work towards reducing the trend of playing computer games among children.