Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Colleges and universities contribute enormously in shaping a student’s life. Also, the programs and courses offered by the universities along with the educational privileges that benefits a student attract them to pursue graduation in that particular university or college. One among the privileges offered by the universities should be to institute study abroad programs for students as it bestows sufficient skillsets that they will benefit from further in their career.

The primary consideration to institute this program will be to engage students to perceive knowledge not only based on academics, but also regarding the social, economic, cultural and traditional aspects of the foreign land. For examples, an interstate study exchange program between AT and SY college has seen many students from SY college learning traditional and classical music which is not a part of their curriculum in their state college. It has also seen steady increase in the intake of SY students in musical classes per year since the beginning of this initiative. This not only helps them gain experience with a distinguishing factor that sets out their lives apart, but also inspire and motivate them to further explore the other forms of differences and cultivate some that can improve their life overall.

Additionally, this program will offer students abundant opportunities like working abroad, working in a multinational company etc. that often adds extra pound to their career. Students gain broad perspective while in foreign country and also have an impact in their postgraduation. For example, University of Torrel, instituted study abroad program and has many MNC’s visiting and recruiting a large number of people because they are having an extra skillset that is knowing a foreign language which helped them have an advantage over other universities that did not institute such a program. Therefore, study abroad program should be instituted in universities and college with encouraging students to at least study one semester in abroad.

While some might argue that studying abroad requirement will place undue financial burden on less wealthy students, however, through better funding programs and financial schemes this can be resolved and also most of the universities are waiving tuition fees for students having good grades and they can also avail scholarships from universities thereby mitigating their financial burden of studying abroad. Therefore, studying abroad with its privileges help them to recover the finance spent on their universities later in their future career.

In summary, universities should institute study abroad program because of the advantages it provides for the students. It enables them to bridge cultural gaps if any, and motivates them to explore more about the traditions and diversifies their knowledge. It also helps them to pick up a new language which has an additional benefit for working in the multinational companies. If a student has financial problems, it can be resolved with better funding programs. Thus, universities instituting this program will yield better for their students’ career