All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

College and universities play a major role in shaping and developing a student’s life, by preparing them for the benefit towards nations and life. Studying in foreign country and native country is totally different in many factors like design of course, living, culture and traditions etc. In my opinion, I mostly agree that at least one semester should be allowed to study in foreign country for three reasons.

To begin with, by studying in foreign country, a student will get exposed to outer parts of the world, which would directly help them in shaping their career and giving them a new perspective in life. For instance, in profession of photography, a particular student should be sent to foreign country like USA, Europe etc. which would help him/her in learning about the tradition and culture of that particular country. It also helps them in knowing the things related to their profession when they meet their type of likeminded people. When people visit foreign countries, they come out of their comfort zone and would eventually help them when, they visit that particular county in near future.

Further, some of the courses in their native country might not be good, but some other foreign country might be best or top notch in that particular field. For example, if we take computer science field as a course, everyone knows that USA is around 30 years ahead from rest of the world. If a student, choose computer science course in his/her native country and if college/university gives opportunity for them to study one semester in the USA, then they would learn so much of the field which they wouldn’t have learnt in their native country. They may even discover some unknown specializations in that field, which might interest them and they may choose that as their career. Hence, exposure across the globe is always benefitted.

Of course, some may argue that, sending their children to study requires huge amounts of funds, especially if they are from low currency country compared to the country they wanted to go. Hence, college and universities should help those types of students who are excellent in academics and wanted to pursue some extra chuck of knowledge by providing scholarships or giving them enough funding so that they complete their course without any problems. At last, college and universities should support the students who genuinely want to study abroad to boost their career.