Colleges and universities should require their students to spend at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Education is one of the most paramount necessities in one’s life, as it opens myriad of avenues for someone to pursue. Here the topic suggests that colleges and university should require their students to spent at least one semester studying in a foreign country. Personally, I completely agree with students going abroad for a semester exchange programme, but the “should require” part of enforcing it on them is where I have my reservations. Thus, I agree with the students going to foreign universities and expanding their mental aptitude’s horizon, the all or nothing around it seems excessive.

Firstly, when the student leaves the comfort of his protected environment and goes to a foreign land, then it opens a stage for them to go and learn about courses and life at a fleeting pace. In such situations, life keeps happening to you at a very fast pace, hence you tend to rise to the occasion and grow leaps and bounds both academically and emotionally. In accordance with that, going for a semester exchange program, can expose you to various new methods of teachings, help you get a fresh perspective on topics and it also familiarizes with you with the lifestyle of almost same aged people from around the world. This experience can also help you meet people from all walks of life and understand how different people tend to work in similar situations. Secondly, going to a foreign university can help you understand the various trends avenues that people are exploring within your field of expertise, and which in turn will help you make a more informed choice about your future. Building on that, such courses can help you access study material from other places, helping you develop a nuanced understanding of your domain.

Furthermore, moving on from the academic benefits to the positive effects this opportunity can have on your personal growth. These kinds of experiences can be a gold mine for experiencing new things on an expedited pace. One can actually learn the best parts of all the cultures and amalgamate to from your own cosmopolitan (alcohol pun intended) view to life. These beliefs and virtues will be of boon when you finally step into the corporate environment and must face new people every day. This time away from friends and family can also be of great assistance, to make you independent and prepare you for taking control of your life in the future.

Finally, before concluding, even though most of the statement has many positive aspects to make you consider it, but that can be done only if we are aware of the shortcomings of the “all or nothing” tone of the statement. These courses, however, academically, and emotionally enriching, are quite expensive and not everyone can afford the same. This goes on to cause a disparity of the education quality for colleagues just based on family’s economical status. The people who could not go to these programmes, will always have a sense of lacking from all their batchmates, causing them to feel excluded and underconfident just because they didn’t have enough monetary prowess. Moreover, students usually go onto enjoy their culture and visit places more than actually concentrating on upskilling themselves during that time.

In conclusion, students visiting foreign universities for at least a semester is a great idea, cause it offers them a path for academics and self-exploration packaged into one. This experience can help them shape themselves up for the rest of their lives, but they should not be forced or made be held responsible to forcefully go if it isn’t viable to the students.