Claim: The best way to teach is to praise positive and ignore the negative actions

Teaching people can be one of the most difficult yet satisfying task anyone can take up for the betterment of the society. Here the topic suggests that praising the positive actions and ignoring the negative ones can be one of the methods to investigate for teaching people. Personally, I completely agree with the first half of the statement, but the second part is what makes me doubt accepting the theory as a whole. Undisputedly positive reinforcement can help any community strive for a safer, happier, and better future but we cannot discount the fact that just blanket ignoring of the negative comments can backfire towards our growth in totality. Thus, meanwhile while I agree with initial part of the approach, I don’t fully agree with the “all or nothing” impression that it gives.

Firstly, in our society the need of being liked and accepted by people is very high among all age groups, genders etc. So, when the people around you or especially any authority starts to reward positive actions, that can certainly drive people to tend to repeat those actions for the praise. Rewarding good behaviour can also sometimes work as backhand reward to people who usually aren’t receptive to authoritarian figures. For example, in a classroom setting, if the teacher starts rewarding students to maintain decorum or raise hand when they speak, this will give those students an incentive(recognition and respect among peers) to act politely. Another good example for this can be the sports leagues across the world. While all the athletes reaching such levels are great among their own rights, rewards for the most amount of goals, the best goal, the best bowling average etc can serve as a good motivation for them to give it their all. This also helps create a sense of positive competitiveness among the players, helping them to push further out of their comfort zones.

Secondly, we should also talk emotional and psychological aspects of positive reinforcement as well. The praise received after a positive task will also kick in a dopamine release by our brain, making us feel with a sense of accomplishments. This uplifts your mood and tends to bring in positive thoughts furthermore incentivizing you act with positive actions. There are many studies as well that show that praises usually keep the morale high among employees, students or any other hierarchy level relationships. It motivates people to keep faith in the system and makes them give their all for their jobs.

Even though the first half of the statement has many positive aspects to make you consider it, but that can be done only if we are aware of the shortcomings of the second half of the sentence. The ignoring of the negative actions can and should be done depending upon the intensity of the harm that can be inflicted by the action. For example, reimagine a school scene. Imagine a situation where a few students are talking over the teacher and causing a hubbub in the classroom for a few jokes and little attention, here in this “low danger situation” ignoring them is the best decision, and by doing that the instructor will be teaching them a lesson. On the other hand, assume a few students are playing around with harmful chemicals in the lab or bullying another, here the teacher should intervene and castigate them. Before concluding, today as we live in the age of social media,thus an example of doing more than just ignoring negative actions should be more than necessary. Say you post a photo on an app, and there are a few people who come in and write vile comments about you or your loved ones. Ignoring them might work for you, but what if they land up in the comments of a person who cannot take it? Hence reprimanding such actions based on the severity of the actions is a necessity in order to teach people well.

In conclusion, however good the plan to positively appraise and accolade the good deeds, we cannot blatantly ignore the negative ones. Pointing them out, helping them correct them, and forgiving them might be a more fruitful path towards actually teaching them.