Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today are more informed about international news than they were in the past. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

As time progresses, people tend to accept difference in cultures, helping them spike an interest in other people’s local happenings and news. Here the topic wants to suggest that nowadays people have greater interest in international news than before. Personally, I agree with this statement as the rapidly increasing globalization and the spread of cosmopolitanism have caused people to relate with the news and activities of other countries.

Firstly, the rapid information spread, and globalization has caused a enormous increase in people’s access to information, different cultures and the ability to understand the mindset of others. Initially, we had to wait for a newspapers, governmental broadcasts, or local political agencies as a legitimate source for international information, whereas now huge amount of information is available to us, on a single click. For example, earlier the Russia-Ukraine war details would take years to unravel and travel across the world, but now people have been privy and glued to the information from Day 0.

In accordance with that, the people have also become more welcoming of different cultures, causing them to have an interest in other’s daily lives. In the past, especially in a newly independent country like India, people were focused on survival and earning the bread hence caring for international news or matters that weren’t pressing for them was a leisure activity. But, as we settled as a country and people got economic and social stability, we had our wave of liberalization and globalization, making India an appealing element of the global landscape. We had an influx of international news, cultures, and people’s stories that we could learn and relate from. As time passed, we got context for most of the things happening internationally, causing the rise of an understanding and interest for their news. Finally, we had a peek into their life and lifestyle, making us attached and care about their latest happenings.

Furthermore, before concluding, the quality of news presentation might also have something to do with the increase in international news consumption. In the older times, the news was presented in a very bland and a monotonous way, which helped the aristocrats, ministers, and government officials to understand them, but the general public found it very hard to relate with such presentational skills. Thus, with time the reporters also had to develop a sense of storytelling and intrigue building within their news presentations, without compromising on the authenticity of information. This finally helped the general public to comprehend the issues and have a surge in interest for such topics.

In conclusion, the betterment in news presentation, the globalization of people and increased acceptance of various cultures around the world has caused an increase in the international news consumption than the past.