In most professions and economic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge

Life is all around you and when you start asking the right questions to it, great ideas emerge. Here the statement says that, in a professional or economic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge. Personally, I agree that imagination is one of the foundations to having a path-breaking idea. A combination of passion and imagination when applied on knowledge, brings out the best ideas of mankind. However, I do tend to disagree with the all or nothing attitude of outright declaring imagination to be more important, because there are many cases where the absence of knowledge can dampen the best of imaginations.

Firstly, humans have always evolved by ideas that have stemmed from imagination and necessity. From the stone age, we had the knowledge but the imagination of rubbing two stones or carving a wheel out of stone helped us achieve the two markers of human development. As time progressed, the old imaginations became the current knowledge, and make us think and imagine harder to solve other quotidian events. This encouraged different visionaries to contribute into the field of science, helping develop the most ground-breaking ideas out of basic curiosity to imagine a solution. If we draw parallels to today’s time, the professional and economic fields have had to evolve at a constant pace, to keep up with the imagination and problem-solving skills of the professionals.

The introduction of TV, radio, internet and other communication mediums was also a major challenge for the various fields. The new avenues, brought in a bigger audience, bigger sale opportunity but that came at a price of bringing the best and most economical solution fastest. Especially, if we see the recent pandemic, the companies had to evolve in such a short time to help them cater to the ever-changing problems at hand. All of this is only possible, when people have the required imagination and determination to tackle unforeseen problems every day. The knowledge base can help you to a certain level, post that it’s your skill, long sighted vision and imagination that helps you take the crunch spilt-second decisions to save you enormous amount of money.

Finally, before concluding, having the best knowledge of any topic is just the half battle, finding the drive to have vision, imagination, and passion to reach to the best solution will make your solution the best version of itself. Knowledge can help you answer the 4 of the 5 W-H questions, but the answer to “how” will always stay with the person who can imagine.

Even though most of the points stated above, will make you consider that in successful cases imagination holds higher virtue than knowledge, but that should be done only when one is fully aware of the shortcomings of the all or nothing attitude. Imagination can help your ideas reach the next level, but of what use are the ideas, when you lack the building blocks(knowledge) to lay a stable foundation. Ideating without knowledge, will only work till a certain aspect of the solution. More that that, there are some tasks such as farming, postal services, where knowledge of the tasks is far more important than the curiosity to imagine.

In conclusion, I agree with the statement that imagination is a more important than knowledge, in solutions where you have to make non-technical quick decisions, but the general consensus of knowledge being the second fiddle is an unfair remark.