Claim: The best way to teach is to praise positive and ignore the negative actions

The researcher here with a new method of studying island cultures wants to claim that Dr. Field’s theory that the children in Tertia were raised by the entire village rather than the biological parents is false, and they usually talk more about their biological parents rather than other adults. Stating that their interview-based method was better than the observation centred method, they fail to mention several key factors, also reveal several instances of poor reasoning, and distorts the view of the situation by manipulating the facts and providing weak claims. To garner support for their claims, the author says their interviews with the kids reveals that they spend more time with their biological parents, rather than any other adult in the village. However further scrutiny of the evidence will reveal that it provides little credible support for the author’s claims. Hence the overall argument seems incomplete and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the author’s largest leap seems to be when the try to claim that their current interview with the children of Tertia is proof enough to debunk Dr Field’s work without additional data. They should look as to whether the behaviour and culture of the Tertia village or any other villages around them didn’t change in the last 20 years. If this didn’t happen, then it would make a stronger case for Dr. Karp. But in the case that it did change, and it were to be true and some activities in the last 20 years did lead to a shift in the culture and way of life there, then this would just be detrimental to the case. Secondly, the author should also have a look as to what exact locations did the team of Dr. Field visit? They should get a hold of the exact villages and exact families that they talked to, in order to get a clear understanding of their findings about the life in Tertia. Cause for all we know that this could be a community specific way of life in these villages, and the families observed or interviewed by both the teams might have had different beliefs. There is also a chance that, this way of life might be prevalent in just some parts of the island, hence Dr. Karp’s team should make sure to visit the same locations in order to make a stronger case for their theory.

To further claim whether the interview-centred approach is better, the new team ought to obtain the exact set of questions that Field’s team might have asked the villagers and their verbatim answers as well. After getting all this, can they correctly claim that the Tertians let everyone raise their children or did the parents do it themselves. Some additional questions also need to be answered like: What did the children actually say? Does speaking more about biological parents convey them raising the kids in any way? How can we conclude the guardian from the children’s frequency of mentioning their parents? Had they said that “they miss their parents a lot”, or “they miss spending time with them”, then this would have done a lot of good to Dr. Karp’s case.

Finally, before concluding, Dr. Karp have surely found an interesting theory, but without actually knowing what the kids are saying, concluding anything might be too farfetched. Along with this, if they want to prove that their way is better than Field’s, then they might have to come up with detailed study about the total time spent with children vs social acceptability or the bond between the biological parents and their progeny vs the behavioural characteristics of the child etc. Additional and exhaustive interviews and research will be needed to look into before belittling the observation-centred method and the other methods.

While the argument put forward by the researcher, is quite innovative and interesting, the data presented could have been more exhaustive in order to convince the reader. In conclusion, the author’s arguments seem unpersuasive and to make bolster their claims, the author should have more concrete evidence and analysis for to determine the hypothesis is the best method to approach studies of new group of people.