"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author here tries to come up with arguments to support his hypothesis that, an investment should be made in Consolidated Industries, as usage of home heating oil is going to increase in the coming future. To garner support, they also state that Consolidated Industries have a major business operation in retail sale of home heating oil. This shows that they fail to mention several key factors, also revealing numerous instances of poor reasoning and distortion of view of the situation by providing weak claims. Further scrutiny of evidence suggests that the evidence provided gives negligible credibility to the author’s claims. Hence, the overall argument seems incomplete and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the biggest leap taken by the author is to assume that Consolidated Industries is the best company to invest the money in, without providing evidence to support what tests were carried out to determine the same. Some of the parameters to be a part of selection criteria are price, quality, connectivity among the north-east etc. With global warming being an imminent risk, a study must be made to determine our provided oil will have the least emissions per gallon. Another important parameter to have been considered, was whether to bring in a company who’s one of the jobs is to make home heating oil versus a company that solely focuses on it. If the author had mentioned some of these arguments, then it would have given the hypothesis’s credibility a great boost. In accordance with that, the author also provides underwhelming proof that investing in the company is the best plan. Given the dearth of natural resources, and the ever-increasing prices, an investigation needed to be conducted ruling out switching to renewable energy sources as an option.

Shifting our focus from the Company to credibility of the argument made by the forecasters, we also need to question some of the facts they have provided in the argument without giving adequate proofs backing the same. A detailed study has to made to determine whether the 90 day winter predicted by them is above average or below average to the average winter duration in the united States. The author also needs to quantify the rise in home heating oil needed with increasing population, and how do they plan on increasing the supplies to the locals.

Finally, before concluding, the author goes onto claim that this company’s production will be enough for the population’s needs but fails to clarify as to how are the going to identify areas based on requirements, and how do they supply oil to everyone in the shortest time possible. All in all, exhaustive and sturdy research is required to eliminate all holes and crevices in the plan before investing in Consolidated Industries.

While the argument put forward by the author is quite innovative and interesting, the presented data could have been more detailed in order to fully convince the readers. In conclusion, the author’s argument seems unpersuasive and to bolster their claims, they should have conducted more concrete analysis to determine if Consolidated Industries and home heating oil is the best way to tackle the problem.