GRE Argument: The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author here tries to come up with arguments to support their hypothesis that, the viewers have complaints with coverage of the weather and the local news. Stating, that they have received complaints regarding the same, and the advertisers threaten to remove the sponsorship money. This shows that they fail to mention several factors, also revealing several instances of poor reasoning and distorting of the view of the situations by providing weak claims. To garner support, they also state that they might reverse their decision of the increased national news time to gain back the viewers and advertisers. However further scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support to the author. Hence the overall claim seems to be incomplete and unsubstantiated.

Firstly, the biggest leap in logic is taken by the author when they attribute the decrease in advertisements to the reduction in the local news, and not mentioning anything about the quality of the news or agitation of the viewers. Had the author mentioned anything about the viewers threating to stop watching due to this issue or the quality of the national news reported was not the issue behind the adverts leaving, then it would have a stronger case for the author's hypothesis. In accordance with that, the author has also provided underwhelming proof for the views of their subscribers, by just mentioning that the viewers had "concerns" without telling as to what their exact issue with the coverage was. For example, if in a news channel X, their main anchor who covered regional news Y leaves, then the viewers will surely raise their concerns on the coverage, but this situation has nothing to do with the national news.

Secondly, the author also needs to provide facts, as to whether the viewership actually decreased in the time national news was aired. If this did not happen, then it weakens the case of the author. Furthermore, the author also fails to mention whether the viewers had issues with the increased national news time in the show, or the quality of coverage to the local one.

Finally, before concluding, the author also goes onto claim that they will be bringing back the original distribution of the news to appease the advertisers and the viewers. To help them solidify their claim, the author should have conducted studies comparing the "viewership vs the duration of late-night show" or "Response to advertisements vs the local or national news” etc. All in all, exhaustive and sturdy research is required to eliminate any fallbacks before changing the time distributions again.

While the argument put forward by the author is quite innovative and interesting, the presented data could have been more exhausting in order to fully convince the readers. In conclusion, the author's argument seems unpersuasive and to bolster their claims, they should have provided more concrete evidence and analysis to determine if the given hypothesis is truly the method to bring back appease the two parties.