"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we predict an increased demand for heating oil and recommend investment in Consolidated Industries, one of whose major business operations is the retail sale of home heating oil."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author suggests the used amount of heating oil will increase in the next few years. Thus, the author recommend investment in Consolidated Industries. However, several questions need answering to evaluate the claim.

The author claims that climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. However, what is the accuracy of climate forecasters? Sometimes, they will make some wrong projections about the weather. For example, Many typhoons occur in August or September in Taiwan, and a good deal of meteorologists will predict the paths of these typhoons in these days. Unfortunately, most of them can’t not be able to forecast correct answers because there are lots of unpredictable factors included, such as the rise and fall of the air pressure. Furthermore, these forecasters may be just an university students doing an intern in a company, and they may not have enough practical experiences for predicting the weather. Therefore, these forecasts for the next few years will not be reliable data. Also, the author didn’t indicate the extent of decreasing of the temperature, and the temperature may be just two degrees below the normal temperature.

The author points out that many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Yet, is it possible that the population will decrease in the future? For example, many countries have the problem of low birth rate, such as Japan or Taiwan, as a result, the population of this region will also be possible being affected by the problem of low birth rate. Moreover, people will also be probable to emigrate to other areas because of the low economic growth of this region. Moreover, the number of new homes also need to be regarded. Because these new homes may not be enough to accommodate all the people in this region if this area has a positive population growth.

The author states that people can invest in Consolidated Industries because of an increased demand for heating oil. However, does this enterprise monopoly this industry? Maybe this is a highly competitive industry, and Consolidated Industries isn’t a greatly profitable company. Even if this business can earn some profits now, it can’t be ensured that Consolidated Industries will develop into a highly profitable company in the future. Also, it is possible that the demand for heating oil will decline in the next couples of years because people can utilize other alternative energy, such as natural gas or electric.

To sum up, even if investing in Consolidated Industries seems to be a feasible choice. However, lots of imperative factor still need to be considered carefully. Therefore, the author must answer the questions mentioned above thoroughly.